by the board of township commissioners and they shall be paid by the board of township commissioners, or jointly by the board of township commissioners and the board of school directors in a ratio to be determined by the two boards. If the board of township commissioners and board of school directors are unable to determine the ratio of compensation of the police to be paid by each board, each such board shall pay one-half of the compensation of such police who shall have the duty of controlling and directing traffic at or near schools.

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED-The 7th day of December, A. D. 1965.

WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 393

AN ACT

HB 1710

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," deleting provisions appropriating a portion of the fees received from learners' permits to the Department of Public Instruction for carrying out a standardized program of teaching safe driving of motor vehicles.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 717, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), known as "The Vehicle Code," amended September 16, 1961 (P. L. 1387), is amended to read:

Section 717. Operators' Licenses; Duplicate Registration or Operator's License Card.—

(a) The fee for issuing an operator's license to a person unable to produce satisfactory proof of having held a Pennsylvania operator's license, during any one of the three (3) years preceding application, shall be four dollars (\$4.00), which fee shall entitle the applicant for such license to receive a learner's permit, valid for ninety (90) days from date of issue, and if the examination shall have been passed during the ninety-day period, an operator's license for the current period not to exceed one (1) year from date of learner's permit or until the occurrence of the month of birth of the operator at the discretion of the secretary.

(b) The fee for renewal of an operator's license shall be two dollars (\$2.00) per year.

(c) The fee for a duplicate operator's license card or duplicate registration card shall be fifty cents (50ϕ) .

[(d) As much of the fee received for each learner's permit as may be necessary, but not more than three dollars (\$3.00), is hereby appropriated to the Department of Public Instruction for the purpose of paying authorized expenses incurred by that department in connection with carrying out a standardized program of teaching of safe driving of motor vehicles in the public schools and making authorized payments to school districts complying with such standardized program. Such moneys shall be paid out of the Motor License Fund upon the warrant of the Auditor General, drawn after requisition by the Department of Public Instruction.]

(e) The fee for renewal of the initial operator's license for the two (2) year license period may be prorated by the secretary.

APPROVED-The 7th day of December, A. D. 1965.

WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 394 AN ACT

HB 1711

Making a continuing appropriation out of the Motor License Fund to the Department of Public Instruction to promote driver education and to provide financial assistance to school districts or joint organizations.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. As much of the money from time to time in the Motor License Fund as may be necessary, determined by multiplying the number of pupils who have completed the high school standardized driver education program in all the public high schools offering the program in the Commonwealth by a basic figure of thirty-five dollars (\$35), plus an additional amount equal to three percent of the annual total amount paid by the Commonwealth to all school districts or joint organizations