SESSION OF 1965. Act Nos. 452-453 1159

Section 1. Subsection (¢) of section 1376, act of March 10, 1949
(P. L. 30), known as the “Public School Code of 1949,” added August 8,
1963 (P. L. 610), is amended to read:

Section 1876. Cost of Tuition and Maintenance of Certain Exceptional
Children in Approved Institutions.—* * *

(¢) When any child between the ages of six (6) and twenty-one (21)
years of age, resident in this Commonwealth, who is socially or emo-
tionally disturbed, is enrolled with the approval of the Department of
Public Instruction as a pupil in any approved day school under super-
vision of or approved by the Department of Public Instruction, the
school district in which such child is resident shall pay twenty-five per-
cent (25%) of the cost of tuition of such child in such school as deter-
mined by the Department of Public Instruction, and the Commonwealth
shall pay out of funds appropriated to the department for special educa-
tion seventy-five percent (75%) of the cost of tuition of such child as
determined by the department: Provided, however, That in no event
shall the cost of tuition of such child exceed [ome thousand dollars
($1000)] one thousand five hundred dollars ($1500) per school year.

APPROVED—The 22d day of December, A. D. 1965,
WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 453
AN ACT

HB 1310

Amending the act of March 10, 1949 (P. L. 30), entitled “An act relating to the public
school system, including certain provisions applicable as well to private and parochial
schools; amending, revising, consolidating and changing the laws relating thereto,”
authorizing change of the fiscal year.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 651, act of March 10, 1949 (P. L. 30), known as
the “Public School Code of 1949,” is amended to read:

Section 651. Fiscal Year.—In all school districts of the first class
and first class A, the fiscal year shall begin on the first day of January

in each year: Provided, That the Board of Public Education of any dis-

trict of the first class or first class A may, by resolution adopted by two-
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thirds vote of the members thereof at a meeting of the board after not

less than ten days’ notice of the fact that such resolution would be pre-

sented for action at such meeting, fix the fiscal year of such school dis-

trict so as to begin on the first day of July in each year instead of on
— e ——

the first day of January as hereinabove provided.

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.
APPROVED—The 22d day of December, A. D. 1965.
WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 454
AN ACT
HB 1454

Amending the act of August 9, 1955 (P. L. 323), entitled “An act relating to_counties
of the third, fourth, fifth, sxxth seventh and eighth classes; amending, revising, con-
solidating and changing ‘the laws relating thereto,” changing dates for reports by
controllers and auditors to courts of common pleas and to the Department of
Internal Affairs.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby

enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1720, act of August 9, 1955 (P. L. 323), known
as “The County Code,” is amended to read:

Section 1720. Controller’s Settlement of Accounts; Report to Com-
mon Pleas; Publications; Financial Report to Department of Internal
Affairs.—The controller shall, at the end of each fiscal year, complete
the audit, settlement and adjustment of the accounts of all county

officers. He shall, [in the month of January] before the first day of April

in every year, make a report, verified by oath or affirmation, to the Court
of Common Pleas of said county, of all receipts and expenditures of the
county for the preceding year, in detail, and classified by reference to
the object thereof, together with a full statement of the financial condi-
tions of the county. Such report shall thereupon be published one time
in such newspapers published in said county as the controller may direct,
but the aggregate cost thereof shall not exceed fifteen hundred dollars
($1500) in any one year in any county, to be paid for out of the county
treasury. Such report may also be published in printed pamphlets at the



