978 Act 1995-7 (SS1) LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA
No. 1995-7 (SS1)

AN ACT
SB 20

Amending Title 18 (Crimes and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
further providing for juvenile records.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 9123 of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes is amended to read:

§ 9123. Juvenile records.

(a) Expungement of juvenile records.—Notwithstanding the provisions of
section 9105 (relating to other criminal justice information) and except upon
cause shown, expungement of records of juvenile delinquency cases wherever
kept or retained shall occur after [ten days] 3¢ days’ notice to the district
attorney, whenever the court upon its motion or upon the motion of a child
or the parents or guardian finds:

(1) acomplaint is filed which is not substantiated or the petition which
is filed as a result of a complaint is dismissed by the court;

(2) six months have elapsed since the final discharge of the person
from supervision under a consent decree and no proceeding secking
adjudication or conviction is pending;

(3) five years have elapsed since the final discharge of the person from
commitment, placement, probation or any other disposition and referral
and since such final discharge, the person has not been convicted of a
felony, misdemeanor or adjudicated delinquent and no proceeding is
pending secking such conviction or adjudication; or

(4) the individual is [21] 18 years of age or older, the attorney for the
Commonwealth consents to the expungement and a court orders the
expungement[.] after giving consideration to the following factors:

(i) the type of offense;

(ii) the individual’s age, history of employment, criminal activity
and drug or alcohol problems;

(iii) adverse consequences that the individual may suffer if the
records are not expunged, and

(iv) whether retention of the record is required for purposes of
protection of the public safety.

(b) Notice to prosecuting attorney.—The court shall give notice of the
applications for the expungement of juvenile records to the prosecuting
attorney.
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(c) Dependent children.—All records of children alleged to be or
adjudicated dependent may be expunged upon court order after the child is
21 years of age or older.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 15th day of March, A.D. 1995.
THOMAS J. RIDGE



