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tions out of the State StoresFund, and any payments
required to be made on account of any parole agent,
enforcement officer or investigator employed by the
PennsylvaniaBoard of Parole shall be from moneysap-
propriated to the PennsylvaniaBoard of Parole.

Section 2. This act shall takeeffect January1, 1960. Effective date.

APPROVED—The15th day of December,A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 656

AN ACT

Amending the act of May 1, 1933 (P. L. 216), entitled “An act
relating to dentistry; defining and providing for the licensing
and registrationof dentists anddentalhygienists,and for the
revocation and suspensionof such licenses and registrations,
subject to appeal, and for their reinstatement;defining the
powersand dutiesof the StateDentalCouncil andExamining
Board and the Departmentof Public Instruction; providing
penalties; and repealing existing laws,” providing for biennial
registrationand fixing fees.

The GeneralAssemblyof the Commonwealthof Penn- The Dental Law.
sylvaniaherebyenactsas follows:

Section 1. Clause (j) of section 3, sections4 and 8, Clause (j), see-
act of May 1, 1933 (P. L. 216), known as “The Dental ~

Law,” are amendedto read: ~fa3L l~933,

amended.Section 3. GeneralPowersof the StateDentalCoun-
cil and Examining Board.—TheState Dental Council
and Examining Board (hereinaftercalled the board),
created, appointed, and organized in accordancewith
the provisions of the Administrative Code, and its
amendments,shall havepower:

* * * * *

(~)To provide for, regulate,and requireall persons
licensed in accordancewith the provisions of this act to
register [annually] biennially with the board; to pre-
scribe the form of such registrations; to require, asa
condition precedentto such [annual] biennial registra-
tion, the paymentof such [annual] biennial registration
feeas shall be fixed accordingto law; to issue [annual]
biennial registration certificates to such persons; and
to suspendor revoke the license or registration of such
personsas fail, refuse or neglect to register [annually]
biennially, or pay such fee. The Departmentof Public
Instruction shall be required to publish [annually]
biennially a list of the personsregisteredfor that par-
ticular [year] biennium.

* * * * *
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Section 10 of the
act, amended
Apr11 30, 1937.
P. L. 554, fur-
ther amended.

Section 4. Fees.—I’hefee for an applicant for ex-
amination and licensure to practice dentistry or as a
dental hygienist in this Commonwealthshall be fixed
by the Departmentof Public Instruction in accordance
with existing law. It shall be the duty of all persons
now qualified and engigedin the practiceof dentistry
and dental hygiene, or who shall hereafterbe licensed
by the board, to register [annually] biennially with
said board, and pay :~oreach such [annual] biennial
registration [such] a fee [as maybe fixed by the Depart-
ment of Public Instruction] which shall be ten dollars
($10) for personsengi~gedin the practice of dentistry
andfour dollars ($4) for personsengagedin the practice
of dental hygiene.

Section 8. Status of Existing Practitioners Pre-
served.—Any person licensed or legally authorized to
practicedentistry or au a dental hygienistin this Com-
monwealth at the time this act takeseffect shall there-
after continueto possessthe samerights and privileges
with respectto the pri ctiee of dentistry or as a dental
hygienist without being requiredto belicensedanewun-
der the provisions of Ihis act, subject, however, to the
powerof the board,asprovidedin this act,to suspendor
revoke the license of ~Lnysuch personfor any of the
causesset forth in this act, andsubject to the power of
the board to require any such personto register [annu-
afly] biennially with the board, as provided in this act.

Section 2. Section 10 of the act, amendedApril 30,
1937 (P. L. 554), is an.endedto read:

Section 10. Penalties—Itis unlawful for any person
to practice dentistry, or to hold himself or herself out
as a practitioner of or cntitled or authorizedto practice
dentistry, or to assumeany title of “dentist,” “dental
surgeon,” or other letters or titles in connectionwith
his or her namewhich in any way representhim or her
as being engagedin the practiceof dentistry or author-
ized so to do, unlessh~or she has been duly licensed,
registered,and authorized to engage in such practice
under the provisionsof this act.

It is unlawful for an:v personto practicedentistry or
as a dental hygienist undera nameother than that on
his or her licenseand [annual] biennial registration,or
to practice under the sameon his or her license and
[annual] biennial registrationwith any additionthereto,
excepta purely techniclLl appellationsuchas“Dentist,”
“D.D.S.,” “Orthodontist” or otherword or lettersper-
taining strictly to the practiceof dentistry, or to induce
anypersonto practicedentistry or as adentalhygienist
in violation of this act.

It is unlawful for any personto sell, offer to ~ell or
barter or exchangeany diplomaor documentconferring
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or purporting to conferany dentaldegreeor anylicense
or registrationcertificate issued accordingto law regu-
lating the licensing of dentistsor dentalhygienists, or
to alter any such documentwith fraudulent intent, or

• to use it as a licenseor registrationcertificateto practice
dentistry underan assumedname,or to makeany false
statementin an affidavit relatingto or in an application
for a license.

It is unlawful for any personto practicedentistryor
as a dentalhygienist unlesshis or her licenseand [an-
riual] biennial registration certificate are displayed in
the office in which he or she is practicingdentistry or as
a dentalhygienist.

It is unlawful for apersonpracticing dentistry to em-
ploy a dental hygienist as his or her assistant unless
suchassistantis licensed andregisteredas a dentalhy-
gienist as requiredby this act andthe rules andregula-
tions of the board.

It is unlawful for any dentist to permit any dental
hygienist operatingunderhis generalsupervisionto per-
form any operation other than those included within
practiceas a ‘‘Dental Hygienist,” as definedby section
two of this act.

It is unlawful for anydentalhygienist to perform any
of the operationsincludedin practiceas a “Dental Hy-
gienist,” as defined by section two of this act, except
underthegeneralsupervisionof a licensedandregistered
dentist.

Any personviolating anyof the provisionsof this sec-
tion, or any other provisionsof this act, shall be guilty
of a misdemeanor,and,upon conviction thereof,shall be
sentencedto pay a fine not exceedingfive hundreddol-
lars,or to suffer imprisonmentnotexceedingsix months,
or both, in the discretionof the court.

Section 3. This act shall takeeffect in thirty days. Effective data.

APPROVED—The 15th day of December,A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 657

AN ACT

Amending the act of July 12, 1919 (P. L. 933), entitled “An act
to regulatethe practice of architecturein the Commonwealth
of Pennsylvaniaby providing for the examinationand registra-
tion of architectsby a State Boardof Examiners;defining the
*power and duties of said board of examiners;and providing
penaltiesfor the violation of this act,” providing for biennial
renewal of certificates and changing fees in accordance
therewith.
* “powers” in original.


