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No. 2012-91 

AN ACT 
HB 75 

Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses) and 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) 
of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, making changes necessary for the 
administration and implementation of the act of December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, 
No.111), entitled "An act amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses), 23 
(Domestic Relations), 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure), 44 (Law and Justice) 
and 61 (Prisons and Parole) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 
extensively revising provisions relating to registration of sexual offenders 
pursuant to Federal mandate; and making editorial changes," in the areas of 
perjury and falsification in official matters, dissemination of criminal history 
record information, disposition of children generally, court-ordered involuntary 
treatment of certain sexually violent persons and registration of sexual offenders; 
and, in juvenile matters, further providing for definitions and for disposition of 
dependent child. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section I. Sections 4915( d) and (g) and 4915. I (b) and ( c. l) of Title 18 of 
the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, amended or added December 20, 
2011 (P .L.446, No.111 ), are amended to read: 
§ 4915. Failure to comply with registration of sexual offenders require-

men ts. 

(d) Effect of notice.-Neither failure on the part of the Pennsylvania 
State Police to send nor failure of a sexually violent predator or offender to 
receive any notice or information pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 9796(a.l) [or], 
(b. l) or (b.3) shall be a defense to a prosecution commenced against an 
individual arising from a violation of this section. The provisions of 42 
Pa.C.S. § 9796(a.l) [and], (b.l) or (b.3) are not an element of an offense 
under this section. 

* * * 
(g) Expiration.-This section shall expire [one year after the effective 

date of this subsection] December 20, 2012. 
§ 4915.1. Failure to comply with registration requirements. 

* * * 
(b) Grading for sexual offenders who must register for 15 years or who 

must register pursuant to 42 Pa.CS.§ 9799.13(7.1).-
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (3), an individual [subject to 

registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 and required to register for a 
period of 15 years] who commits a violation of subsection (a)(l) or (2) 
commits a felony of the third degree. 

(2) An individual [subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.13 and required to register for a period of 15 years] who 
commits a violation of subsection (a)(!) or (2) and who has previously 
been convicted of an offense under subsection (a)(!) or (2) or (a.I)(!) or 
(2) or a similar offense commits a felony of the second degree. 



SESSION OF 2012 Act 2012-91 881 

(3) An individual [subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.13 and required to register for a period of 15 years] who violates 
subsection (a)(3) commits a felony of the second degree. 

(4) For the purposes of this subsection, an individual shall mean an 
individual that meets any of the following: 

(i) Is subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 and is 
required to register for a period of 15 years. 

(ii) ls subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13(7.1). 
* * * 
(c.1) Grading for sexual offenders who are transients who must register 

for 15 years.-
(1) Except as set forth in paragraph (2) or (3), an individual [subject 

to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 who is a transient who 
must register for 15 years] commits a felony of the third degree if the 
individual violates subsection (a. l )(1) or (2). 

(2) An individual [subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.13 who is a transient who must register for 15 years] commits a 
felony of the second degree ifthe individual violates subsection (a.1)(3). 

(3) An individual [subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 
9799.13 who is a transient who must register for a period of 15 years] 
commits a felony of the second degree if the individual violates 
subsection (a.1)(1) or (2) and has been previously convicted of an offense 
under subsection (a)(l) or (2) or (a.1)(1) or (2) or a similar offense. 

(4) For the purposes of this subsection, an individual shall mean an 
individual that meets any of the following: 

(i) Is subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13 and is a 
transient who must register for a period of 15 years. 

(ii) Is subject to registration under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9799.13(7.1) 
and is a transient. 

* * * 
Section 2. Section 9123(a) introductory paragraph of Title 18 is amended 

and the section is amended by adding a subsection to read: 
§ 9123. Juvenile records. 

(a) Expungement of juvenile records.-Notwithstanding the provisions 
of section 9105 (relating to other criminal justice information) and except 
[upon cause shown] as provided under subsection (a.1), expungement of 
records of juvenile delinquency cases wherever kept or retained shall occur 
after 30 days' notice to the district attorney, whenever the court upon its 
motion or upon the motion of a child or the parents or guardian finds: 

* * * 
(a.1) Exceptions.-Subsection (a) shall not apply if any of the 

following apply: 
(1) The individual meets all of the following: 

(i) Was 14 years of age or older at the time the individual 
committed an offense which, if committed by an adult, would be 
classified as: 

(A) An offense under section 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 
(relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125 
(relating to aggravated indecent assault). 
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(B) An attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit an 
offense under section 3121, 3123 or 3125. 
(ii) Was adjudicated delinquent for the offense under sub­

paragraph (i). 
(2) Upon cause shown. 

* * * 
Section 2.1. Paragraph (3) of the definition of "child" in section 6302 of 

Title 42 is amended to read: 
§ 6302. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have, 
unless the context clearly indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in 
this section: 

* * * 
"Child." An individual who: 

* * * 
(3) is under the age of 21 years and was adjudicated dependent 

before reaching the age of 18 years [and who, while engaged in a course 
of instruction or treatment, requests the court to retain jurisdiction 
until the course has been completed, but in no event shall a child 
remain in a course of instruction or treatment past the age of 21 
years.], who has requested the court to retain jurisdiction and who 
remains under the jurisdiction of the court as a dependent child because 
the court has determined that the child is: 

(i) completing secondary education or an equivalent credential; 
(ii) enrolled in an institution which provides postsecondary or 

vocational education; 
(iii) participating in a program actively designed to promote or 

remove barriers to employment; 
(iv) employed for at least 80 hours per month; or 
(v) incapable of doing any of the activities described in sub­

paragraph (i), (ii), (iii) or (iv) due to a medical or behavioral health 
condition, which is supported by regularly updated informa-tion in 
the permanency plan of the child. 

* * * 
Section 2.2. Section 635l(e)(3) of Title 42 is amended by adding a 

subparagraph, subsection (f) is amended by adding paragraphs and the 
section is amended by adding a subsection to read: 
§ 635 l. Disposition of dependent child. 

* * * 
(e) Permanency hearings.­

*** 
(3) The court shall conduct permanency hearings as follows: 

* * * 
(iii) If the court resumes jurisdiction of the child pursuant to 

subsection (j), permanency hearings shall be scheduled in accor­
dance with applicable law until court jurisdiction is terminated, but 
no later than when the child attains 21 years of age. 

(f) Matters to be determined at permanency hearing.-At each 
permanency hearing, a court shall determine all of the following: 
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* * * 
(8.1) Whether the child continues to meet the definition of "child" 

and has requested that the court continue jurisdiction pursuant to 
section 6302 if the child is between 18 and 21 years of age. 

(8.2) That a transition plan has been presented in accordance with 
section 475 of the Social Security Act (49 Stat. 620, 42 U.S.C. § 
675(5)(H)). 

* * * 
OJ Resumption of jurisdiction.-At any time prior to a child reaching 

21 years of age, a child may request the court to resume dependency 
jurisdiction if: 

(1) the child continues to meet the definition of "child" pursuant to 
section 6302; and 

(2) dependency jurisdiction was terminated: 
(i) within 90 days prior to the child's 18th birthday; or 
(ii) on or after the child's 18th birthday, but before the child 

turns 21 years of age. 
Section 3. Sections 6358(a), 6403(a)(2), 6404.2(g) and 9799.10(2) and 

(3) of Title 42, amended or added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111), are 
amended to read: 
§ 6358. Assessment of delinquent children by the State Sexual Offenders 

Assessment Board. 
(a) General rule.-A child who has been found to be delinquent for an 

act of sexual violence which if committed by an adult would be a violation 
of 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate 
sexual intercourse), 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault), 3125 (relating to 
aggravated indecent assault), 3126 (relating to indecent assault) or 4302 
(relating to incest) who is committed to an institution or other facility 
pursuant to section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) and who 
remains in any such institution or facility as a result of that adjudication of 
delinquency upon attaining 20 years of age shall be subject to an assessment 
by the board. 

* * * 
§ 6403. Court-ordered involuntary treatment. 

(a) Persons subject to involuntary treatment-A person may be subject 
to court-ordered commitment for involuntary treatment under this chapter if 
the person: 

* * * 
(2) Has been committed to an institution or other facility pursuant to 

section 6352 (relating to disposition of delinquent child) and remains in 
any such institution or facility upon attaining 20 years of age as a result 
of having been adjudicated delinquent for the act of sexual violence. 

* * * 
§ 6404.2. Duration of outpatient commitment and review. 

* * * 
(g) Counseling of sexually violent delinquent children.-For the time 

period under section 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), a sexually 
violent delinquent child shall attend at least monthly counseling sessions in a 
program approved by the board and shall be financially responsible for all 
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fees assessed from the counseling sessions. The board shall monitor 
compliance. If the sexually violent delinquent child can prove to the 
satisfaction of the court inability to afford to pay for the counseling sessions, 
the sexually violent delinquent child shall attend the counseling sessions; and 
the [parole office] board shall pay the requisite fees. 
§ 9799 .10. Purposes of subchapter. 

This subchapter shall be interpreted and construed to effectuate the 
following purposes: 

* * * 
(2) To require individuals convicted or adjudicated delinquent of 

certain sexual offenses to register with the Pennsylvania State Police and 
to otherwise comply with this subchapter if those individuals reside 
within this Commonwealth, intend to reside within this Commonwealth, 
attend an educational institution within this Commonwealth or are 
employed or conduct volunteer work within this Commonwealth. 

(3) To require individuals convicted or adjudicated delinquent of 
certain sexual offenses who fail to maintain a residence and are therefore 
homeless but can still be found within the borders of this Commonwealth 
to register with the Pennsylvania State Police. 

* * * 
Section 4. The definitions of "approved registration site," "convicted," 

"juvenile offender" and "sexually violent predator" in section 9799.12 of 
Title 42, added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111 ), are amended to read: 
§ 9799 .12. Definitions. 

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter shall have 
the meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Approved registration site." [A site in this Commonwealth approved 
by the Pennsylvania State Police: 

(1) at which individuals subject to this subchapter may register, 
update and verify information or be fingerprinted and photographed 
as required by this subchapter; 

(2) which is capable of submitting fingerprints utilizing the 
Integrated Automated Fingerprint Identification System or in 
another manner and in the form as the Pennsylvania State Police 
shall require; and 

(3) which is capable of submitting photographs in the form as the 
Pennsylvania State Police shall require.] A site in this Commonwealth 
approved by the Pennsylvania State Police at which individuals subject 
to this subchapter may comply with this subchapter. 
* * * 
"Convicted." Includes conviction by entry of plea of guilty or no lo 

contendere, conviction after trial or court martial and a finding of not guilty 
due to insanity or of guilty but mentally ill. 

* * * 
"Juvenile offender." One of the following: 

(!) An individual who was 14 years of age or older at the time the 
individual committed an offense which, if committed by an adult, would 
be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape), 
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3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual intercourse) or 3125 (relating 
to aggravated indecent assault) or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to 
commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 and either: 

(i) is adjudicated delinquent for such offense on or after the 
effective date of this section; or 

(ii) has been adjudicated delinquent for such offense and on the 
effective date of this section is subject to the jurisdiction of the court 
on the basis of that adjudication of delinquency, including 
commitment to an institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) 
(relating to a disposition of delinquent child). 
(2) An individual who was I 4 years of age or older at the time the 

individual committed an offense similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 
3121, 3123 or 3 I 25 or an attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit an 
offense similar to an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 under 
the laws of the United States, another jurisdiction or a foreign country and 
was adjudicated delinquent for such an offense. 

(3) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
paragraph, was required to register in a sexual offender registry in 
another jurisdiction or foreign country based upon an adjudication of 
delinquency. 

The term does not include a sexually violent delinquent child. 

* * * 
"Sexually violent predator." An individual determined to be a sexually 

violent predator under section 9795.4 (relating to assessments) prior to the 
effective date of this subchapter or an individual convicted of an offense 
specified in: 

(I) section 9799.14(b)(I), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), ((7),) (8), (9) or (10) 
(relating to sexual offenses and tier system) or an attempt, conspiracy or 
solicitation to commit any offense under section 9799.14(b )(1 ), (2), (3), 
( 4), (5), (6), [(7),] (8), (9) or (IO); 

(2) section 9799.14(c)(I), (1.1), (l.2), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6) or an 
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799.14(c)(l), (1.1), (1.2), (2), (3), (4), (5) or (6); or 

(3) section 9799.14(d)(I), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (7), (8) or (9) or an 
attempt, conspiracy or solicitation to commit an offense under section 
9799 .14( d)( 1 ), (2), (3 ), ( 4 ), ( 5), ( 6), (7), (8) or (9) 

who, on or after the effective date of this subchapter, is determined to be a 
sexually violent predator under section 9799.24 (relating to assessments) due 
to a mental abnormality or personality disorder that makes the individual 
likely to engage in predatory sexually violent offenses. The term includes an 
individual determined to be a sexually violent predator or similar 
designation where the determination occurred in another jurisdiction, a 
foreign country or by court martial following a judicial or administrative 
determination pursuant to a process similar to that under section 9799.24. 

* * * 
Section 5. Section 9799.13 of Title 42, added December 20, 2011 

(P .L.446, No.111 ), is amended to read: 
§ 9799.13. Applicability. 
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The following individuals shall register with the Pennsylvania State 
Police as provided in sections 9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) and 9799.25 (relating to verification 
by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police) and otherwise comply 
with the provisions of this subchapter: 

(I) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
[has been] is convicted of a sexually violent offense and who has a 
residence within this Commonwealth or is a transient. 

(1.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, is convicted of a sexually violent offense in this Commonwealth 
and does not have a residence in this Commonwealth and: 

(i) is employed in this Commonwealth; or 
(ii) is a student in this Commonwealth. 

[(1.1)] (1.2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, [has been] is convicted of a sexually violent offense [in this 
Commonwealth] and does not have a residence within this Common­
wealth or is not a transient in this Commonwealth and: 

(i) is employed in this Commonwealth; or 
(ii) is a student in this Commonwealth. 

(2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is, as a result of a conviction for a sexually violent offense, an inmate in 
a State or county correctional institution of this Commonwealth, including 
a community corrections center or a community contract facility, is being 
supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole or county 
probation or parole [or], is subject to a sentence of intermediate 
punishment [and has been convicted of a sexually violent offense] or 
has supervision transferred pursuant to the Interstate Compact for 
Adult Supervision in accordance with section 9799.19(g). 

(2.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is, as a result of a conviction for a sexually violent offense, an inmate in 
a Federal correctional institution or is supervised by Federal probation 
authorities [and has committed a sexually violent offense] and who: 

(i) has a residence within this Commonwealth or is a transient; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(3) An individual who is required to register or was required to 
register and failed to register with the Pennsylvania State Police under 
this subchapter prior to the effective date of this section and who has not 
fulfilled the period ofregistration as of the effective date of this section. 

[(4) An individual who was required to register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police pursuant to former section 9795.1 (relating 
to registration) and: 

(i) has fulfilled the period of registration provided in former 
section 9795.l(a) or has been removed from the registry under 
former section 9795.5 (relating to exemption from certain 
notifications); and 

(ii) on or after the effective date of this section, is convicted of 
a sexually violent offense or convicted of an offense graded as a 
felony. 
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(4.1) An individual who was required to register under this 
subchapter and has fulfilled the period of registration provided in 
this subchapter and who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is convicted of a sexually violent offense or of an offense graded as a 
felony. 

(5) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
section, was required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police 
pursuant to this subchapter and: 

(i) has fulfilled the period of registration provided in this 
subchapter; and 

(ii) on or after the effective date of this section, is convicted of 
an offense graded as a felony. 
(6) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 

section, was required to register with the Pennsylvania State Police 
pursuant to this subchapter and: 

(i) has been removed from the registry pursuant to section 
9799.17 (relating to termination of period of registration for 
juvenile offenders); and 

(ii) is subsequently convicted of an offense graded as a 
felony.] 
(7) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, is 

required to register in a sexual offender registry in another jurisdiction or 
in a foreign country based upon a conviction for a sexually violent offense 
or under a sexual offender statute in the jurisdiction where the individual 
is convicted and: 

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a transient; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(7.1) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, 
is required to register in a sexual offender registry in another jurisdiction 
or foreign country based upon a conviction of [a sexual offense which is 
not classified as a sexually violent offense] an offense set forth in 
section 9799.14(b)(23) (relating to sexual offenses and tier system) and: 

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a transient; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(7.2) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this 
paragraph, is convicted of a sexually violent offense in another 
jurisdiction or foreign country, or is incarcerated or under supervision 
as a result of a conviction for a sexually violent offense in another 
jurisdiction or foreign country and: 

(i) has a residence in this Commonwealth or is a transient; 
(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(8) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, is 
a juvenile offender who was adjudicated delinquent within this Common­
wealth or was adjudicated delinquent in another jurisdiction or a foreign 
country and: 

(i) has a residence within this Commonwealth; 
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(ii) is employed within this Commonwealth; or 
(iii) is a student within this Commonwealth. 

(8.1) An individual who is a juvenile offender who is adjudicated 
delinquent in this Commonwealth on or after the effective date of this 
paragraph but who does not have a residence within this Common­
wealth, is not a transient, is not employed in this Commonwealth or is 
not a student within this Commonwealth must register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police in accordance with section 9799.19 prior to 
leaving this Commonwealth. 

(9) An individual who, on or after the effective date of this section, is 
a sexually violent delinquent child who is committed for involuntary 
treatment or, on the effective date of this section, is under commitment 
receiving involuntary treatment in the State-owned facility or unit as set 
forth in Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of 
certain sexually violent persons). 
Section 6. Section 9799.14(b)(l2) and (21), (c)(9), (12) and (17) and 

(d)(12), (13) and (15) of Title 42, added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, 
No.111 ), are amended and subsection (b) is amended by adding a paragraph 
to read: 
§ 9799.14. Sexual offenses and tier system. 

* * * 
(b) Tier I sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified as 

Tier I sexual offenses: 

* * * 
(12) 18 U.S.C. § [2252) 2252(a)(4) (relating to certain activities 

relating to material involving the sexual exploitation of minors). 

* * * 
(21) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the laws 

of another jurisdiction or foreign country or under a former law of this 
Commonwealth. 

* * * 
(23) A conviction for a sexual offense in another jurisdiction or 

foreign country that is not set forth in this section, but nevertheless 
requires registration under a sexual offender statute in the jurisdiction 
or foreign country. 
(c) Tier II sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified as 

Tier II sexual offenses: 

* * * 
(9) 18 U.S.C. § 2244 (relating to abusive sexual contact) where the 

victim is 13 years of age or older but under 18 years of age. 

* * * 
(12) 18 U.S.C. § [2252) 2252(a)(l), (2) or (3). 

* * * 
(17) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the laws 

of another jurisdiction or foreign country or under a former law of this 
Commonwealth. 

* * * 
( d) Tier III sexual offenses.-The following offenses shall be classified 

as Tier III sexual offenses: 
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* * * 
(12) 18 U.S.C. § 2244 where the victim is under 13 years of age. 
(13) A comparable military offense or similar offense under the laws 

of another jurisdiction or country or under a former law of this 
Commonwealth. 

* * * 
(15) [An offense listed as a Tier JI sexual offense where there is a 

subsequent conviction for an offense graded as a felony.) (Reserved). 
* * * 

Section 7. Section 9799.15(a)(l), (4) and (7), (c), (f), (g) and (h) of Title 
42, added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111), are amended, subsection 
(a) is amended by adding a paragraph and the section is amended by adding 
a subsection to read: 
§ 9799.15. Period of registration. 

(a) Period of registration.-Subject to subsection (c), an individual 
specified in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) shall register with the 
Pennsylvania State Police as follows: 

(1) An individual convicted of a Tier I sexual offense, except an 
offense set forth in section 9799.14(b)(23) (relating to sexual offenses 
and tier system), shall register for a period of 15 years. 

* * * 
(4) A juvenile offender who was adjudicated delinquent in this 

Commonwealth, or who was adjudicated delinquent in another 
jurisdiction or foreign country as a consequence of having committed 
an offense similar to an offense which would require the individual to 
register if the offense was committed in this Commonwealth, shall 
register for the life of the individual. 

(4.1) A juvenile offender who is required to register in a sexual 
offender registry in another jurisdiction or foreign country as a 
consequence of having been adjudicated delinquent for an offense 
similar to an offense which, if committed in this Commonwealth, would 
not require the individual to register shall register for a period of time 
equal to that required of the individual in the other jurisdiction or 
foreign country. 

* * * 
(7) An individual subject to registration under section [9799.13] 

9799.13(7.1) shall register for the period of time equal to the time for 
which the individual was required to register in another jurisdiction or 
foreign country. 

* * * 
(c) Period of registration tolled.-The following shall apply: 

(1) The period of registration set forth in subsection (a) shall be tolled 
for the period of time in which the individual specified in section 9799 .13 
is: 

(i) incarcerated in a Federal, State or county correctional 
institution, excluding a community contract facility or community 
corrections center; 
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(ii) subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment which is 
restrictive and where the individual is sentenced to a period of 
incarceration; 

(iii) committed to an institution or facility set forth in section 
6352(a)(3) that provides the individual with 24-hour-per-day 
supervision and care; [or] 

(iv) committed to and receiving involuntary inpatient treatment in 
the State-owned facility or unit set forth in Chapter 64 (relating to 
court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually violent 
persons)[.); or 

(v) incarcerated in a Federal correctional institution, excluding 
a community contract facility or community corrections center. 
(2) This subsection shall apply to an individual specified in section 

9799.13 who is recommitted to a Federal, State or county correctional 
institution for a parole violation or who has been sentenced to an 
additional term of imprisonment. [In the case of recommitment, the 
Department of Corrections or the county correctional facility shall 
notify the Pennsylvania State Police of the admission of the 
individual.] In addition, this subsection shall apply to an individual 
committed to or recommitted to a Federal correctional institution. In the 
case of recommitment to a State or county correctional institution, the 
Department of Corrections or the county correctional facility shall 
notifY the Pennsylvania State Police of the admission of the individual. 
* * * 
(f) Sexually violent predators.-[An individual convicted of a Tier I 

sexual offense, a Tier II sexual offense or a Tier III sexual offense who is 
determined to be a) A sexually violent predator !under section 9799.24] 
shall appear in person at an approved registration site to: 

(1) provide or verify the information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b ); 
(and] 

(2) be photographed quarterly[.]; and 
(3) state whether he is in compliance with section 9799.36 (relating 

to counseling of sexually violent predators). 
(g) In-person appearance to update information.-In addition to the 

periodic in-person appearance required in [subsection] subsections (e), (/) 
and (h), an individual specified in section 9799.13 shall appear in person at 
an approved registration site within three business days to provide current 
information relating to: 

(1) A change in name, including an alias. 
(2) A commencement of residence, change in residence, termination 

of residence or failure to maintain a residence, thus making the individual 
a transient. 

(3) Commencement of employment, a change in the location or entity 
in which the individual is employed or a termination of employment. 

( 4) Initial enrollment as a student, a change in enrollment as a student 
or termination as a student. 

(5) An addition and a change in telephone number, including a cell 
phone number, or a termination of telephone number, including a cell 
phone number. 
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(6) An addition, a change in and termination of a motor vehicle 
owned or operated, including watercraft or aircraft. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the individual must provide any license 
plate numbers and registration numbers and other identifiers and an 
addition to or change in the address of the place the vehicle is stored. 

(7) A commencement of temporary lodging, a change in temporary 
lodging or a termination of temporary lodging. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the individual must provide the specific 
length of time and the dates during which the individual will be 
temporarily lodged. 

(8) [A] An addition, change in m termination of e-mail address, 
instant message address or any other designations used in Internet 
communications or postings. 

(9) An addition, change in or termination of information related to 
occupational and professional licensing, including type of license held 
and license number. 
(h) Transients, juvenile offenders and sexually violent delinquent 

children.-If the individual specified in section 9799.13 is a transient, a 
juvenile offender or a sexually violent delinquent child, the following apply: 

( 1) If the individual is a transie:it, the individual shall appear in 
person at an approved registration site to provide or to verify the 
information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b) and to be photographed 
monthly. The duty to appear in person monthly and to be photographed 
shall apply until a transient establishes a residence. In the event a transient 
establishes a residence, the requiremen:: of periodic in-person appearances 
set forth in subsection (e) shall apply. 

(2) If the individual is a juvenile offender who is not a transient, the 
individual shall appear at an approved registration site to provide or verify 
the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be photographed 
quarterly. 

(3) If the individual is a sexually violent delinquent child who is not 
a transient, the individual shall appear at an approved registration site to 
provide or verify the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and to be 
photographed quarterly. 

* * * 
(j) In-person reporting by incarcerated or committed individuals.-The 

requirements of subsections (e), (/), (g) and (h) do not apply where the 
individual specified in section 9799.13 is: 

(I) incarcerated in a correctional institution, excluding a 
community contract facility or community corrections center; 

(2) subject to a sentence of intermediate punishment which is 
restrictive and where the individual is sentenced to a period of 
incarceration; 

(3) committed to an institution or facility set forth in section 
6352(a)(3) which provides the individual with 24-hour-per-day 
supervision and care; or 

(4) committed to and receiving involuntary inpatient treatment in 
the State-owned facility or unit set forth in Chapter 64. 
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Section 8. Sections 9799.16(b)(5) and (6), (c) introductory paragraph and 
(d), 9799.17 and 9799.18(a) introductory paragraph, (4), (5) and (6) and 
(d)(l) ofTitle 42, added December 20, 201 I (P.L.446, No.111), are amended 
to read: 
§ 9799.16. Registry. 

* * * 
(b) Information provided by sexual offender.-An individual specified in 

section 9799 .13 (relating to applicability) shall provide the following 
information which shall be included in the registry: 

* * * 
(5) Address of each residence or intended residence, whether or not 

the residence or intended residence is located within this Common­
wealth and the location at which the individual receives mail, including 
a post office box. If the individual [enters this Commonwealth and] 
fails to maintain a residence and is therefore a transient, the individual 
shall provide information for the registry as set forth in paragraph (6). 

(6) If the individual is a transient, the individual shall provide 
information about the transient's temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless 
shelter or park. In addition, the transient shall provide a list of places the 
transient eats, frequents and engages in leisure activities and any planned 
destinations, including those outside this Commonwealth. If the transient 
changes or adds to the places listed under this paragraph during a [30-
day] monthly period, the transient shall list these when registering as a 
transient during the next [30-day] f!lOnth/y period. In addition, the 
transient shall provide the place the transient receives mail, including a 
post office box. If the transient has been designated as a sexually violent 
predator, the transient shall state whether he is in compliance with section 
9799 .36 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators). The duty to 
provide the information set forth in this paragraph shall apply until the 
transient establishes a residence. In the event a transient establishes a 
residence, the requirements of section 9799.15(e) (relating to period of 
registration) shall apply. 

* * * 
(c) Criminal justice information.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall 

ensure that the following information is included in or electronically 
accessible by the registry: 

* * * 
(d) Cooperation.-[The] There shall be cooperation between the 

Pennsylvania State Police [shall cooperate with), State and county 
correctional institutions, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the 
county office of probation and parole, any court with jurisdiction over a 
sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of the court, juvenile 
probation and parole and the Department of Public Welfare to ensure that the 
information set forth in subsections (b) and (c) is provided and placed in the 
registry. 
§ 9799 .17. Termination of period of registration for juvenile offenders. 

(a) Juvenile offender.-An individual who is a juvenile offender, with 
the exception of a juvenile offender whose period of registration is 
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determined by section 9799.15(a)(4.1) (relating to period of registration), 
shall have the requirement to register terminated if all of the following apply: 

(1) At least 25 years have elapsed since the individual was: 
(i) adjudicated delinquent for an offense which, if committed by 

an adult, would be classified as an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 
(relating to rape), 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual 
intercourse) or 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent assault) or an 
attempt, solicitation or conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 
Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125, excluding time spent under the super­
vision of the court, including commitment to an institution or facility 
set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to deposition of delinquent 
child); or 

(ii) adjudicated delinquent for an offense in another jurisdiction 
or foreign country which is similar to that which if committed by an 
adult in this Commonwealth would be classified as an offense under 
18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 3125 or an attempt, solicitation or 
conspiracy to commit an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. § 3121, 3123 or 
3125. 
(2) For a period of 25 years prior to the filing of the petition, the 

individual has not been convicted of a subsequent sexually violent offense 
or a subsequent offense: 

(i) graded as a misdemeanor of the second degree or higher; or 
(ii) which is punishable by a term of imprisonment greater than 

one year. 
(3) The individual successfully completed court-ordered supervision 

without revocation. 
(4) The individual successfully completed a treatment program for 

sexual offenders recognized by the juvenile court in this Commonwealth 
or another jurisdiction or the United States Attorney General under 
section 115(b)(l) of the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 
2006 (Public Law 109-248, 42 U.S.C. § 16915(b)(l)). 
(b) Procedure.-An individual who was adjudicated delinquent in this 

Commonwealth and who seeks to terminate the obligation to register 
pursuant to subsection (a) may petition the court of common pleas of the 
county in which the individual was adjudicated delinquent for termination. 
An individual who was adjudicated delinquent in another jurisdiction or 
foreign country may petition the court of common pleas in the county in 
which the individual has established a residence in this Commonwealth. 
The court shall: 

(1) Within 120 days of the filing of the petition under this subsection, 
hold a hearing to determine whether to terminate the obligation to 
register. The petitioner and the district attorney shall be given notice of 
the hearing and an opportunity to be heard, the right to call witnesses, the 
right to call expert witnesses and the right to cross-examine witnesses. 
The petitioner shall have the right to counsel and to have a lawyer 
appointed ifthe petitioner cannot afford one. 

(2) Terminate the obligation to register only upon a finding of clear 
and convincing evidence that the petitioner has satisfied the criteria in 
subsection (a) and that allowing the petitioner to terminate the obligation 
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to register is not likely to pose a threat to the safety of any other person. 
The burden of proof shall be on the petitioner. 
(c) Notice.-A court granting relief under this section shall notify the 

Megan's Law Unit of the Pennsylvania State Police in writing within ten 
days from the date relief is granted. 

(d) Right to appeal.-The petitioner and the Commonwealth shall have 
the right to appellate review of the actions of the court taken under this 
section. An appeal by the Commonwealth shall stay the order of the court. 

( e) Prohibition.-This section shall not apply to an individual who: 
(1) Has been designated as a sexually violent predator. 
(2) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who is required 

to register for a period of 15 years or a period of 25 years. 
(3) Has been convicted of a sexually violent offense who is required 

to register for a period of life. 
( 4) Is a sexually violent delinquent child. 

§ 9799 .18. Information sharing. 
(a) General rule.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall, within three 

business days, [transfer) make available information provided by an 
individual set forth in section 9799.13 (relating to applicability) under 
sections 9799. l 5(g) and (i) (relating to period of registration), 9799. l 6(b) 
(relating to registry) and 9799.19 (relating to initial registration) to: 

* * * 
(4) The district attorney of the county in which the individual: 

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence, or is 
transient; 

(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 
(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 

(5) The chief law enforcement officer of the police.department of the 
municipality in which the individual: 

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence, or is 
transient; 

(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 
(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 

(6) The county office of probation and parole for the county in which 
the individual: 

(i) establishes a residence or terminates a residence, or is 
transient; 

* * * 

(ii) commences employment or terminates employment; or 
(iii) enrolls as a student or terminates enrollment as a student. 

( d) International travel.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall, within 
three business days, transfer information about international travel provided 
by the sexual offender under section 9799.15(i) to: 

(1) A jurisdiction in which the sexual offender is required to register 
the sexual offender's residence, as a transient, employment or enrollment 
as a student. 

* * * 
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Section 9. Section 9799. l 9(b), (b.1) introductory paragraph (h), (i) and (j) 
of Title 42, added December 20, 2011 (P .L.446, No.111 ), are amended and 
the section is amended by adding subsections to read: 
§ 9799.19. Initial registration. 

* * * 
(b) Initial registration if incarcerated within Commonwealth or by 

Federal Court on effective date ofsection.-The following apply: 
(1) If the individual is, [on] prior to the effective date of this section, 

incarcerated in a Federal, State or county correctional facility, the 
individual shall provide the information set forth in section 9799.l 6(b) 
(relating to registry) to the appropriate official of the Federal, State or 
county correctional facility or the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and 
Parole for inclusion in the registry before being released due to: 

(i) the expiration of sentence, in which case the information shall 
be collected no later than ten days prior to the maximum expiration 
date; 

(ii) parole; 
(iii) State or county intermediate punishment where the sentence 

is restrictive and the individual is sentenced to a period of 
incarceration in a State or county correctional institution or a work 
release facility; or 

(iv) special probation supervised by the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole. 
(2) For individuals set forth in paragraph ( 1 ), the appropriate official 

of the Federal, State or county correctional facility or the Pennsylvania 
Board of Probation and Parole shall collect and forward the information 
in section 9799. l 6(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police. The appropriate 
official shall, in addition, ensure that the information set forth in section 
9799.16(c) is collected and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police. 
The information in section 9799. l 6(b) and ( c) shall be included in the 
registry. With respect to individuals released under paragraph (1 )(ii), (iii) 
or (iv), the State or county correctional facility shall not release the 
individual until it receives verification from the Pennsylvania State Police 
that it has received the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c). 
Verification may take place by electronic means. With respect to 
individuals released under paragraph (1 )(i), if the individual refuses to 
provide the information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b ), the State or 
county correctional institution shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police 
or the municipal police department with jurisdiction over the facility of 
the failure to provide the information and of the expected date, time and 
location of the release of the individual. 
(b. l) Initial registration if sentenced to a county or State correctional 

facility on or after the effective date of section.-If the individual is, on or 
after the effective date of this section, sentenced to a period of incarceration 
in a county or State correctional facility, the individual shall provide the 
information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b) as follows: 

* * * 
(e.l) Initial registration for county or Federal probationers on the 

effective date of this section.-
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(1) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already 
serving a sentence of county probation, the appropriate office of 
probation and parole serving the county shall register the individual 
within 48 hours. The appropriate official of that office shall collect the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and forward that 
information to the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State 
Police shall ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) 
is collected. The information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) shall be 
included in the registry. If the individual fails to comply, the appropriate 
official of that office shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(2) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already 
under the supervision of Federal probation authorities for a sexually 
violent offense, the individual shall provide the information set forth in 
section 9799.16(b) by appearing at an approved registration site within 
48 hours of the effective date of this section. 
(e.2) Initial registration for county or State parolees on the effective 

date of this section.-
(1) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already 

serving a sentence of county parole, the appropriate office of probation 
and parole serving the county shall register the individual within 48 
hours. The appropriate official of that office shall collect the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and forward that 
information to the Pennsylvania State Police. The Pennsylvania State 
Police shall ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) 
is collected. The information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) shall be 
included in the registry. 1f the individual fails to comply, the appropriate 
official of that office shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. 

(2) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already 
serving a sentence of State parole, the Pennsylvania Board of Probation 
and Parole shall register the individual within 48 hours. The 
appropriate official of Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole 
shall collect the information set forth in section 9799.16(b) from the 
individual and forward the information to the Pennsylvania State 
Police. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the information 
set forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected. The information in section 
9799.16(b) and (c) shall be included in the registry. If the individual 
fails to comply, the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of 
Probation and Parole shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police. 
* * * 
(h) Initial registration of juvenile offender or sexually violent delinquent 

child.-[If the individual is a juvenile offender or a sexually violent 
delinquent child, the following apply:] 

(1) If the individual is a juvenile offender who is adjudicated 
delinquent by a court on or after the effective date of this section, the 
following apply: 

(i) The court shall require the individual to provide the 
infonnation set forth in section 9799. l 6(b) to the chief juvenile 
probation officer of the court as follows: 
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(A) Except as set forth in clause (B), at the time of 
disposition under section 6352 (relating to disposition of 
delinquent child). 

(B) At the time the individual is adjudicated delinquent 
under section 6341 (relating to adjudication) if: 

(1) the adjudication of delinquency occurs in any county 
other than the individual's county of residence; and 

(Il) the court intends to transfer the individual's case 
for disposition to the individual's county of residence under 
section 632l(c) (relating to commencement of proceedings). 

(ii) The chief juvenile probation officer shall collect the 
information in section 9799.16(b) and (c) and forward it to the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry as directed by 
the Pennsylvania State Police. If the juvenile offender is, under 
section 6352(a)(3), subject to court-ordered placement in an 
institution or facility [set forth in section 6352(a)(3)] which provides 
the juvenile with 24-hour-per-day supervision and care, the 
institution or facility shall ensure the information provided by the 
juvenile offender pursuant to section 9799. l 6(b) is updated to reflect 
accurate information prior to release. The institution or facility may 
not release the juvenile offender until it receives verification from the 
Pennsylvania State Police that the information required under section 
9799 .l 6(b) and ( c) has been entered in the registry. 
(2) If [the individual is], on the effective date of this section, the 

individual is a juvenile offender and is subject to the jurisdiction of the 
court pursuant to a disposition entered under section 6352 and is on 
probation or the individual is otherwise being supervised in the 
community, including placement in a foster family home or other 
residential setting which provides the individual with less than 24-hour­
per-day supervision and care, the individual shall provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the chief juvenile probation 
officer of the court within 30 days of the effective date of this section. 
The chief juvenile probation officer shall collect the information set forth 
in section 9799.16(b) and (c) and forward it to the Pennsylvania State 
Police for inclusion in the registry, as directed by the Pennsylvania State 
Police. 

(3) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already a 
juvenile offender and is subject to the jurisdiction of a court pursuant to a 
disposition entered under section 6352 and is, under section 6352, subject 
to court-ordered placement in an institution or facility [set forth in 
section 6352] which provides the juvenile with 24-hour-per-day 
supervision and care, the director of the institution or facility or a 
designee shall make the juvenile offender available for and facilitate the 
collection of the information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b) and ( c) as 
directed by the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The 
Pennsylvania State Police may require the institution or facility to 
transport the juvenile offender to and from an approved registration site in 
order to fulfill the requirement of this paragraph. In order to fulfill the 
requirements of this paragraph, the chief juvenile probation officer of the 



898 Act 2012-91 LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA 

court shall, within ten days of the effective date of this section, notify the 
director of the institution or facility and the Pennsylvania State Police that 
the juvenile offender is required to register under this subchapter. In 
addition, the institution or facility shall ensure that the information 
provided by the juvenile offender pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is 
updated to reflect accurate information prior to release. The juvenile 
offender may not be released until the institution or facility receives 
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that the information 
required under section 9799 .16(b) and ( c) has been entered into the 
registry. 

( 4) If the individual is, on the effective date of this section, already a 
sexually violent delinquent child and receiving involuntary treatment in 
the State-owned facility or unit under Chapter 64 (relating to court­
ordered involuntary treatment of certain sexually violent persons), the 
director of the facility or unit or a designee shall make the sexually 
violent delinquent child available for and facilitate the collection of the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) and (c) as directed by the 
Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The Pennsylvania 
State Police may require the facility or unit to transport the sexually 
violent delinquent child to and from an approved registration site in order 
to fulfill the requirement of this paragraph. In addition, the facility or unit 
shall ensure that the information provided by the sexually violent 
delinquent child pursuant to section 9799.16(b) is updated to reflect 
accurate information prior to release. The facility or unit may not transfer 
the sexually violent child to outpatient treatment until it has received 
verification from the Pennsylvania State Police that it has received the 
information set forth in section 9799 .16(b) and ( c ). 

(5) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
determined by the court to be a sexually violent delinquent child and 
committed for involuntary treatment to the State-owned facility or unit 
under Chapter 64, the following apply: 

(i) The court shall require the individual to provide the 
information set forth in section 9799.16(b) to the chief juvenile 
probation officer of the court at the time of commitment. The chief 
juvenile probation officer shall collect and forward the information to 
the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the registry. The chief 
juvenile probation officer shall, at the time of commitment, also 
ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) is collected 
and forwarded to the Pennsylvania State Police for inclusion in the 
registry. The Pennsylvania State Police may require the facility or unit 
to transport the sexually violent delinquent child to and from an 
approved registration site in order to fulfill the requirement of initial 
registration at the time of commitment. 

(ii) The facility or unit shall ensure that the information provided 
by the sexually violent delinquent child pursuant to section 
9799.16(b) is updated to reflect accurate information prior to transfer 
to involuntary outpatient treatment pursuant to section 6404.1 
(relating to transfer to involuntary outpatient treatment) or discharge. 
The court may not transfer the sexually violent delinquent child to 
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outpatient treatment or discharge the child from the facility or unit 
until it has received verification from the Pennsylvania State Police 
that the information required under section 9799. I 6(b) and ( c) has 
been entered in the registry. 

(i) Initial registration if convicted or adjudicated delinquent outside 
Commonwealth.-[The following apply:] 

( l) [If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this 
section, convicted of a sexually violent offense in another jurisdiction 
or a foreign country or of a comparable military offense, the] An 
individual subject to registration under section 9799.13(7), (7.1) or (7.2) 
shall appear in person at an approved registration site to provide the 
information set forth in section 9799. I 6(b) to the Pennsylvania State 
Police within three business days of establishing residence, commencing 
employment or commencing enrollment as a student within this 
Commonwealth. In addition, the individual shall comply with the other 
provisions of this subchapter, including section 9799.15 (relating to 
period of registration). If the individual fails to establish a residence but 
nevertheless resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall register 
as a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the 
information set forth in section 9799. I 6( c) with respect to the individual 
is collected and entered in the registry. 

(2) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, a 
juvenile offender as defined in paragraph (2) or (3) of the definition of 
"juvenile offender" in section 9799.12 (relating to definitions), the 
individual shall appear in person at an approved registration site to 
provide the information set forth in section 9799. l 6(b) to the 
Pennsylvania State Police within three business days of establishing 
residence, commencing employment or commencing enrollment as a 
student within this Commonwealth. ln addition, the individual shall 
comply· with the other provisions of this subchapter, including section 
9799.15. If the individual fails to establish a residence but nevertheless 
resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall register as a transient. 
The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the information set forth 
in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the individual is collected and 
entered in the registry. 

(3) If the individual is, on or after the effective date of this section, 
convicted of a sexually violent offense and incarcerated in a Federal 
correctional institution or being supervised by Federal probation 
authorities, the individual shall appear in person at an approved 
registration site to provide the information set forth in section 
9799.16(b) to the Pennsylvania State Police within three business days 
of establishing residence, commencing employment or commencing 
enrollment as a student in this Commonwealth. In addition, the 
individual shall comply with other provisions of this subchapter, 
including section 9799.15. I/the individual fails to establish a residence 
but nevertheless resides in this Commonwealth, the individual shall 
register as a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that 
the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the 
individual is collected and entered into the registry. 
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(j) Former law and [initial) registration.-[If the individual was 
required to register under this subchapter before the effective date of 
this section and has not fulfilled the period of registration, the] An 
individual subject to registration under section 9799.13(3) shall appear at 
an approved registration site to update registration or, if necessary, to 
provide the information set forth in section 9799 .l 6(b) to the Pennsylvania 
State Police within 90 days of the effective date of this section. In addition, 
the individual shall comply with the other provisions of this subchapter, 
including section 9799.15. If the individual fails to establish a residence, the 
individual shall register as a transient. The Pennsylvania State Police shall 
ensure that the information set forth in section 9799.16(c) with respect to the 
individual is collected and entered in the registry. 

Section 10. Sections 9799.20 introductory paragraph, 9799.21, 9799.22, 
9799.23(a) introductory paragraph and (2), 9799.25(b)(l) and (c) intro­
ductory paragraph and (1), 9799.26(a)(l)(i) and (ii) and 9799.27(a)(2) and 
last sentence and (b), added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111), are 
amended to read: 
§ 9799.20. Duty to inform. 

In order to implement the provisions of section 9799.19 (relating to initial 
registration), as appropriate, the Pennsylvania State Police, the court having 
jurisdiction over the sexual offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of 
the court and the appropriate official of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation 
and Parole, county office of probation and parole, the Department of Public 
Welfare or a State or county correctional institution shall: 

* * * 
§ 9799.21. Penalty. 

(a) Registration.-An individual set forth in section 9799.13 (relating to 
applicability) may be subject to prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 
(relating to failure to comply with registration requirements) ifthe individual 
fails to: 

(1) register with the Pennsylvania State Police as set forth in section 
9799.15 (relating to period of registration), 9799.19 (relating to initial 
registration) or 9799.25 (relating to verification by sexual offenders and 
Pennsylvania State Police); 

(2) verify the information provided by the individual or be 
photographed as provided in sections 9799.15, 9799.19 and 9799.25; or 

(3) provide accurate information when registering under sections 
9799.15, 9799.19 and 9799.25. 
(b) Counseling.-A sexually violent predator or sexually violent 

delinquent child may be subject to prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 
if he jails to comply with section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of 
sexually violent predators). 
§ 9799.22. Enforcement. 

(a) Failure to comply.-When an individual set forth in section 9799.13 
(relating to applicability) fails to comply with section (9799.21(1), (2) or 
(3)) 9799.19 (relating to initial registration), 9799.21 (relating to penalty) 
or 9799.36 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators), the 
Pennsylvania State Police shall either: 
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(1) In cooperation with the district attorney, seek issuance of a 
warrant for the arrest of the individual and locate and arrest the 
individual for violating this section[; or]. 

(2) [notify] NotifY the municipal police department where the 
individual has a residence, is transient, is employed or is enrolled as a 
student. The municipal police shall, in cooperation with the district 
attorney, seek issuance of a warrant for the arrest of the individual and 
locate and arrest the individual for violating this section. In municipalities 
where no municipal police department exists, the Pennsylvania State 
Police shall proceed under paragraph (I). 
(b) When individual cannot be found.-In the event the individual cannot 

be located, the [Pennsylvania State Police shall) following apply: 
(I) [Enter] The Pennsylvania State Police shall enter information 

on the Internet website of sexual offenders and in the registry indicating 
that the individual cannot be located. 

(2) [Provide] The Pennsylvania State Police shall provide informa­
tion to the National Sex Offender Registry and NCIC to reflect that the 
individual cannot be located. 

(3) [Notify] The Pennsylvania State Police shall notifY the United 
States Marshals Service. 

( 4) [In cooperation with the district attorney, seek issuance of a 
warrant for the arrest of the individual.] If a warrant is issued pursuant 
to this [paragraph] subsection, the [Pennsylvania State Police] police 
department executing the warrant shall provide information to the 
National Crime Information Center Wanted Person File to reflect that a 
warrant has been issued for the individual's arrest. 
(c) Notice from another jurisdiction.-When another jurisdiction notifies 

the [Commonwealth] Pennsylvania State Police that a sexual offender has 
terminated residence, employment or enrollment as a student in that 
jurisdiction and intends to establish a residence in this Commonwealth, 
commence employment in this Commonwealth or commence enrollment as 
a student in this Commonwealth and that ;;exual offender fails to appear in 
this Commonwealth to register as provided in section 9799 .15 (relating to 
period of registration), the Pennsylvania State Police shall notify the other 
jurisdiction that the sexual offender failed to appear. This subsection also 
applies to a transient who fails to appear. 

(d) Duty to inform Pennsylvania State Police.-In order to implement 
[the provisions of section 9799.15 and section 9799.19 (relating to initial 
registration)] this subchapter, the court with jurisdiction over the sexual 
offender, the chief juvenile probation officer of the court and the appropriate 
official of the Pennsylvania Board of Probation and Parole, the county office 
of probation and parole, the Department of Public Welfare or a State or 
county correctional institution shall inform the Pennsylvania State Police if 
the individual refuses to provide the information required[. The] by this 
subchapter so that the Pennsylvania State Police [shall locate and arrest 
the individual for a violation of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to 
comply with registration requirements)] may' comply with this section. 

'"requirements) may" in enrolled bill. 
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§ 9799.23. Court notification and classification requirements. 
(a) Notice to sexual offenders.-At the time of sentencing [or], of 

disposition[,] in the case of a juvenile offender or of commitment in the case 
of a sexually violent delinquent child, the court shall inform the sexual 
offender of the provisions of this subchapter. The court shall: 

* * * 
(2) Specifically inform the sexual offender of: 

(i) the duty to register in accordance with sections 9799 .15 
(relating to period of registration), 9799.16(b) (relating to registry), 
9799.19 (relating to initial registration) and 9799.25 (relating to 
verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police); and 

(ii) the duty to attend counseling in accordance with: 
(A) section 9799.36 (relating to counseling of sexually 

violent predators) if applicable; or 
(B) section 6404.2(g) (relating to duration of outpatient 

commitment and review) if applicable. 
* * * 

§ 9799.25. Verification by sexual offenders and Pennsylvania State Police. 
* * * 
(b) Deadline.-The following apply: 

(1) A sexual offender shall appear as required under subsection (a) 
within ten days [ofl before the date designated by the Pennsylvania State 
Police. Failure to appear within ten days may subject the sexual offender 
to prosecution under 18 Pa.C.S. § 4915.1 (relating to failure to comply 
with registration requirements). 

* * * 
(c) Facilitation of verification.-The Pennsylvania State Police shall 

administer and facilitate the process of verification of information, including 
compliance with counseling in the case of sexually violent predators and 
sexually violent delinquent children, and photographing the sexual offender 
by: 

( 1) Sending a notice by first class United States mail to each sexual 
offender at the [offender's] last reported [residence or[ location[, 
including a post office box] where the offender receives mail. The 
notice shall be sent not more than 30 days nor less than 15 days prior to 
the date a sexual offender is required to appear pursuant to subsection (a). 
The notice shall remind the sexual offender of the sexual offender's 
responsibilities under this subchapter, including counseling in the case of 
sexually violent predators and sexually violent delinquent children, and 
provide a list of approved registration sites. 

* * * 
§ 9799.26. Victim notification. 

(a) Duty to inform victim.-
( 1) If an offender is determined to be a sexually violent predator or a 

sexually violent delinquent child, the municipal police department or the 
Pennsylvania State Police, if no municipal police jurisdiction exists, shall 
give written notice to the victim when the sexually violent predator or the 
sexually violent delinquent child registers initially under section 9799.19 
(relating to initial registration) or under section 9799.15(g)(2), (3) or ( 4) 



SESSION OF 2012 Act 2012-91 903 

(relating to period of registration). The notice shall be given within 72 
hours after the sexually violent predator or the sexually violent delinquent 
child registers or notifies the Pennsylvania State Police of current 
information under section 9799. l 5(g). The notice shall contain the 
following information about the sexually violent predator or sexually 
violent delinquent child: 

(i) Name. 
(ii) Residence. This subparagraph includes whether the sexually 

violent p'redator or sexually violen: delinquent child is a transient, in 
which case the notice shall contain information about the transient's 
temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. In addition, 
the notice shall contain a list of places the transient eats, frequents and 
engages in leisure activities. 

* * * 
§ 9799.27. Other notification. 

(a) Notice.-Notwithstanding the provisions of Chapter 63 (relating to 
juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record 
information), the chief law enforcement officer of the police department of 
the municipality where a sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child lives or, in the case of a sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a residence and being a 
transient, the chief law enforcement officer of the police department of the 
transient's last known habitat, shall be responsible for providing written 
notice as required under this section. The notice shall contain: 

* * * 
(2) The address of the residence of the individual. If the individual is 

a transient, written notice under this paragraph shall consist of 
information about the transient's temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless 
shelter or park, and a list of the places the transient eats, frequents and 
engages in leisure activities. 

* * * 
The notice shall not include any information that might reveal the victim's 
name, identity and residence. 

(b) To whom written notice is provided.-The chief law enforcement 
officer shall provide written notice under subsection (a) to the following 
persons: 

( 1) Neighbors of the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child. As used in this paragraph: 

(i) In the case of a sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child being a transient, "neighbor" includes residents in the 
area of the transient's last known temporary habitat or other temporary 
place of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless 
shelter or park. 

(ii) Where the sexually violent predator lives in a common 
interest community, the term "neighbor" includes the unit owners' 
association and residents of the common interest community. 
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(2) The director of the county children and youth agency of the 
county where the sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent 
child has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a residence and being 
a transient, the director of the county children and youth agency of the 
county of the sexually violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent 
child's last known temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or 
dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. 

(3) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for each private and parochial school enrolling students up 
through grade 12 in the municipality where the sexually violent predator 
or sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to 
establish a residence and being a transient, the superintendent of each 
school district and the equivalent official for private and parochial schools 
enrolling students up through grade 12 in the municipality of the sexually 
violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's last known 
temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. 

( 4) The superintendent of each school district and the equivalent 
official for each private and parochial school located within a one-mile 
radius of where the sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a sexually violent 
predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to establish a 
residence and being a transient, the superintendent of each school district 
and the equivalent official for each private and parochial school within a 
one-mile radius of the sexually violent predator's or sexually violent 
delinquent child's last known temporary habitat or other temporary place 
of abode or dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or 
park. 

(5) The licensee of each certified day-care center and licensed 
preschool program and owner or operator of each registered family day­
care home in the municipality where the sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to 
establish a residence and being a transient, the licensee of each certified 
day-care center and licensed preschool program and owner or operator of 
each registered family day-care home in the municipality of the sexually 
violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's last known 
temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. 

(6) The president of each college, university and community college 
located within 1,000 feet of where the sexually violent predator or 
sexually violent delinquent child has a residence or, in the case of a 
sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent child failing to 
establish a residence and being a transient, the president of each college, 
university and community college located within 1,000 feet of the 
sexually violent predator's or sexually violent delinquent child's last 
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known temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or dwelling, 
including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. 

* * * 
Section 11. Section 9799.28(a)(l)(i) and (ii), (b)(3), (4), (5), (6) and (9) 

and ( e) of Title 42, added December 20, 2011 (P .L.446, No.111 ), are 
amended and subsection (b) is amended by adding paragraphs to read: 
§ 9799.28. Public Internet website. 

(a) Information to be made available through Internet-The 
Pennsylvania State Police shall, in the manner and form directed by the 
Governor: 

( 1) Develop and maintain a system for making information about 
individuals convicted of a sexually violent offense, sexually violent 
predators and sexually violent delinquent children publicly available by 
electronic means via an Internet website. In order to fulfill its duties under 
this section, the Pennsylvania State Police shall ensure that the Internet 
website: 

(i) Contains a feature to permit a member of the public to obtain 
relevant information for an individual convicted of a sexually violent 
offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent 
child by a [single] query of the Internet website based on search 
criteria including searches for any given zip code or geographic 
radius set by the user. 

(ii) Contains a feature to allow a member of the public to receive 
electronic notification when an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, sexually violent predator or sexually violent 
delinquent child provides information under section 9799. I 5(g)(2), 
(3) or (4) (relating to period of registration) [relating to]. This 
feature shall also allow a member of the public to receive electronic 
notification when the individual convicted of a sexually violent 
offense, sexually violent predator or sexually violent delinquent 
child moves into or out of a geographic area chosen by the user. 

* * * 
(b) Required information.-Notwithstanding Chapter 63 (relating to 

juvenile matters) and 18 Pa.C.S. Ch. 91 (relating to criminal history record 
information), the Internet website shall contain the following information 
regarding an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually 
violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child: 

* * * 
(3) Street address, [city,] municipality, county, State and zip code of 

residences and intended residences. In the case of an individual convicted 
of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually 
violent delinquent child who fails to establish a residence and is therefore 
a transient, the Internet website shall contain information about the 
transient's temporary habitat or other temporary place of abode or 
dwelling, including, but not limited to, a homeless shelter or park. In 
addition, the Internet website shall contain a list of places the transient 
eats, frequents and engages in leisure activities. 

(4) Street address, [city,] municipality, county, State and zip code of 
any location at which an individual convicted of a sexually violent 
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offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child 
is enrolled as a student. 

(5) Street address, [city,] municipality, county, State and zip code of 
a fixed location where an individual convicted of a sexually violent 
offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child 
is employed. If an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a 
sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is not 
employed at a fixed address, the information shall include [general travel 
routes and] general areas of work. 

(6) Current facial photograph of an individual convicted of a sexually 
violent offense, a sexually· violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child. This paragraph requires, if available, the last eight 
facial photographs taken of the individual and the date each photo­
graph was entered into the registry. 

*** 
(9) [The sexually violent offense] Offense for which an individual 

convicted of a sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a 
sexually violent delinquent child is registered under this subchapter and 
other sexually violent offenses for which the individual was convicted. 

*** 
(12) Date on which the individual convicted of a sexually violent 

offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent 
child is made active within the registry and date when the individual 
most recently updated registration information. 

(13) Indication as to whether the individual is a sexually violent 
predator, sexually violent delinquent child or convicted of a Tier I, Tier 
II or Tier III sexual offense. 

(14) If applicable, indication that an individual convicted of a 
sexually violent offense, a sexually violent predator or a sexually violent 
delinquent child is incarcerated or committed or is a transient. 
* * * 
(e) Duration of posting.-The information listed in subsection (b) shall 

be made available on the Internet website unless[: 
(1) An] an individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a 

sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child is 
deceased[, in which case the Internet website shall contain a notice of 
the death. 

(2) An individual convicted of a sexually violent offense, a 
sexually violent predator or a sexually violent delinquent child has 
terminated residence, has terminated employment or has terminated 
enrollment as a student within this Commonwealth, in which case the 
Internet website shall contain a notice indicating such information] or 
is no longer required to register under this subchapter. 
Section 12. Sections 9799.32(3), 9799.34(2), 9799.36(a) and 9799.41 of 

Title 42, added December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111 ), are amended to read: 
§ 9799.32. Pennsylvania State Police. 

The Pennsylvania State Police have the following duties: 
* * * 
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(3) To write [regulations] guidelines regarding neighbor notification 
under section 9799.27(b)(l) (relating to other notification). 

* * * 
§ 9799.34. Duties of facilities housing sexual offenders. 

The Department of Corrections, a county correctional facility, an 
institution or facility set forth in section 6352(a)(3) (relating to disposition of 
delinquent child) and the separate, State-owned facility or unit established 
under Chapter 64 (relating to court-ordered involuntary treatment of certain 
sexually violent persons) shall have the following duties: 

* * * 
(2) On a form prescribed by the Pennsylvania State Police, to notify 

the Pennsylvania State Police each time a sexual offender is incarcerated, 
committed or released, including supervised release [or transfer to 
another correctional institution or facility or institution, in]. In the 
case of a juvenile offender or sexually violent delinquent child, the 
facility shall notify the Pennsylvania State Police each time the 
individual is committed, released or transferred to another facility or 
institution. This paragraph shall include a community corrections center 
or community contract facility. 

* * * 
§ 9799 .36. Counseling of sexually violent predators. 

(a) General rule.-A sexually violent predator who is not incarcerated 
shall be required to attend at least monthly counseling sessions in a program 
approved by the board and be financially responsible for all fees assessed 
from the counseling sessions. The board shall monitor the compliance of the 
sexually violent predator. If the sexually violent predator can prove to the 
satisfaction of the court that the sexually violent predator cannot afford to 
pay for the counseling sessions, the sexually violent predator shall 
nonetheless attend the counseling sessiom., and the parole office shall pay 
the requisite fees. 

* * * 
§ 9799 .41. Expiration. 

The following provisions shall expire [one year after the effective date 
of this section] December 20, 2012: 

Section 9718.3 (relating to sentence for failure to comply with 
registration of sexual offenders). 

Section 9791 (relating to legislative findings and declaration of 
policy). 

Section 9792 (relating to definitions). 
Section 9795.1 (relating to registration). 
Section 9795.2 (relating to registration procedures and applicability). 
Section 9795.3 (relating to sentencing court information). 
Section 9795.4 (relating to assessments). 
Section 9795.5 (relating to exemption from certain notifications). 
Section 9796 (relating to verification ofresidence). 
Section 9797 (relating to victim notification). 
Section 9798 (relating to other notification). 
Section 9798.1 (relating to information made available on the Internet 

and electronic notification). 
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Section 9798.2 (relating to administration). 
Section 9798.3 (relating to global positioning system technology). 
Section 9799 (relating to immunity for good faith conduct). 
Section 9799.1 (relating to duties of Pennsylvania State Police). 
Section 9799.2 (relating to duties of Pennsylvania Board of Probation 

and Parole). 
Section 9799.3 (relating to board). 
Section 9799 .4 (relating to counseling of sexually violent predators). 
Section 9799.7 (relating to exemption from notification for certain 

licensees and their employees). 
Section 9799.8 (relating to annual performance audit). 
Section 9799.9 (relating to photographs and fingerprinting). 

Section 13. The General Assembly finds and declares that, under princi­
ples of statutory construction, the effective date of section 18(2) of the act of 
December 20, 2011 (P.L.446, No.111), is December 20, 2012. 

Section 14. This act shall take effect as follows: 
(1) The amendment or addition of the following provisions of Title 

18 shall take effect December 20, 2012: 
(i) Section 4915.l(b) and (c.1). 
(ii) Section 9123(a) introductory paragraph and (a. l). 

(2) The amendment or addition of the following provisions of Title 
42 shall take effect December 20, 2012: 

(i) Section 6358(a). 
(ii) Section 6403(a)(2). 
(iii) Section 6404.2(g) 
(iv) Section 9799.10(2) and (3). 
(v) The definitions of "approved registration site," "convicted," 

"juvenile offender" and "sexually violent predator" in section 
9799.12. 

(vi) Section 9799.13. 
(vii) Section 9799.14(b)(12), (21) and (23), (c)(9), (12) and (17) 

and {d)(12), (13) and (15). 
(viii) Section 9799.15(a)(l), (4), (4.1) and (7), (c), (f), (g), (h) and 

(j). 
(ix) Section 9799.16(b)(5) and (6), (c) introductory paragraph and 

(d). 
(x) Section 9799.17. 
(xi) Section 9799.18(a)(4), (5) and (6) and (d)(l). 
(xii) Section 9799.19(b ), (b. l) introductory paragraph, (e. l), 

(e.2), (h), (i) and (j). 
(xiii) Section 9799.20 introductory paragraph. 
(xiv) Section 9799.21. 
(xv) Section 9799.22. 
(xvi) Section 9799.23(a) introductory paragraph and (2). 
(xvii) Section 9799 .25(b )(1) and ( c) introductory paragraph and 

(1). 
(xviii) Section 9799.26(a)(l)(i) and (ii). 
(xix) Section 9799.27(a)(2) and (b). 
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(xix.I) Section 9799.28 (a)(l)(i) and (ii), (b)(3), (4), (5), (6), (9), 
(12), (13) and (14) and (e). 

(xx) Section 9799.34(2). 
(xxi) Section 9799.36(a). 

(2.1) The following provisions shall take effect July 1, 2012, or 
immediately, whichever is later: 

(i) The amendment of paragraph (3) of the definition of "child" in 
42 Pa.C.S. § 6302. 

(ii) The addition of 42 Pa.C.S. § 635 l(e)(3)(iii), (f)(8.1) and (8.2) 
and G). 
(3) The remainder of this act shall take effect immediately. 

APPROVED-The 5th day of July, A.D. 2012 

TOM CORBETT 


