The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

The Vehicle Code.

Section 1. Subsection (a), section 840, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

Subsection (a), section 840, act of April 29, 1959, P. L. 58, Act No. 32, amended.

Section 840. School Buses; Safety Requirements.—
(a) "School Bus," for the purpose of this section, is any vehicle registered as a commercial vehicle, motor bus or motor omnibus, [or any vehicle having a lineal seating space, including the space for the operator, of more than one hundred (100) inches, and] used for the transportation of school children: Provided, That the term "school bus" shall not include any motor buses operated by common carriers holding a certificate of the Public Utility Commission, who also operate such motor buses over routes approved by such commission: And provided further, That all such buses comply with the safety regulations of that commission and the State Council of Education.

* * * * 4

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than ten dollars (\$10.00) and not more than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not less than five (5) days and not more than ten (10) days.

Section 2. This act shall become effective July 1, 1959.

Effective date.

APPROVED-The 13th day of July A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 146

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," by eliminating the phrase "members of a hose company" and referring to them by the phrase "volunteer firemen."

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 815, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

The Vehicle Code.

Section 815, act of April 29, 1959, P. L. 58, Act No. 32, amended. Section 815. Blue Light Visible From in Front of Vehicles.—Volunteer firemen [or members of a hose company] in accordance with a statement, containing not over sixty-five (65) names, signed by the chief of the fire department [or hose company], and filed with the Pennsylvania State Police, may operate or move a vehicle in answering fire or emergency calls upon a highway with a blue light or lights, not in excess of two (2) of a flasher type, displayed on the front thereof. The light shall not exceed the intensity of twenty-one (21) candle power nor shall the light exceed seven and one-half (7½) inches in diameter. The light shall be capable of operation inside the vehicle by the vehicle operator.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of ten dollars (\$10.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than five (5) days, and shall not thereafter use the lights authorized by this section.

Effective date.

Section 2. This act shall become effective July 1, 1959.

Approved—The 13th day of July A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 147

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," by including tractors, trailers and semitrailers within the prohibition against throwing material from vehicles.

The Vehicle Code.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1025, act of April 29, 1959, P. L. 58, Act No. 32, amended.

Section 1. Section 1025, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

Section 1025. Throwing Material from [Motor] Vehicle or Tractor.—No person shall throw, or permit to be thrown, from a [motor] vehicle or tractor, any garbage, bottles, cans, rubbish, wire, glass or cardboard or wood cartons or boxes.

In any prosecution under this section the throwing of garbage, bottles, rubbish, wire, glass or cardboard or wood cartons or boxes from a [motor] vehicle or tractor