Section 815. Blue Light Visible From in Front of Vehicles.—Volunteer firemen [or members of a hose company] in accordance with a statement, containing not over sixty-five (65) names, signed by the chief of the fire department [or hose company], and filed with the Pennsylvania State Police, may operate or move a vehicle in answering fire or emergency calls upon a highway with a blue light or lights, not in excess of two (2) of a flasher type, displayed on the front thereof. The light shall not exceed the intensity of twenty-one (21) candle power nor shall the light exceed seven and one-half (7½) inches in diameter. The light shall be capable of operation inside the vehicle by the vehicle operator.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of ten dollars (\$10.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than five (5) days, and shall not thereafter use the lights authorized by this section.

Effective date.

Section 2. This act shall become effective July 1, 1959.

Approved—The 13th day of July A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 147

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," by including tractors, trailers and semitrailers within the prohibition against throwing material from vehicles.

The Vehicle Code.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1025, act of April 29, 1959, P. L. 58, Act No. 32, amended.

Section 1. Section 1025, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

Section 1025. Throwing Material from [Motor] Vehicle or Tractor.—No person shall throw, or permit to be thrown, from a [motor] vehicle or tractor, any garbage, bottles, cans, rubbish, wire, glass or cardboard or wood cartons or boxes.

In any prosecution under this section the throwing of garbage, bottles, rubbish, wire, glass or cardboard or wood cartons or boxes from a [motor] vehicle or tractor shall be prima facie evidence that they were thrown, or permitted to be thrown, from the [motor] vehicle or tractor by the operator or custodian.

If at any hearing or proceeding the operator or custodian shall testify under oath or affirmation, that he did not throw garbage, bottles, rubbish, wire, glass or cardboard or wood cartons or boxes from the [motor] vehicle or tractor, and shall submit himself to an examination as to who did the throwing and reveal the name of such person, if known to him, or, if the information is made in a court other than that of his own residence, shall forward to the magistrate an affidavit setting forth these facts, then the prima facie evidence arising as above set forth shall be overcome and removed and the burden of proof shifted.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days.

Limitation.—The provisions of this section are subject to the limitation of actions as set forth in section 1201 of this act.

Section 2. This act shall become effective July 1, 1959. Effective date.

Approved—The 13th day of July A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 148

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," by extending the prohibition against parking in certain specified places to tractors.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1021, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58) (Act No. 32), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

Section 1021. Parking Prohibited in Specified Places.-No person shall park a vehicle or tractor, or permit it to stand, whether attended or unattended, upon a highway or in any of the following places;

The Vehicle Code.

Section 1021, act of April 29, 1959, P. L. Act No. 32, amended.