tions out of the State Stores Fund, and any payments required to be made on account of any parole agent, enforcement officer or investigator employed by the Pennsylvania Board of Parole shall be from moneys appropriated to the Pennsylvania Board of Parole.

Section 2. This act shall take effect January 1, 1960. Effective date.

Approved—The 15th day of December, A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

## No. 656

## AN ACT

Amending the act of May 1, 1933 (P. L. 216), entitled "An act relating to dentistry; defining and providing for the licensing and registration of dentists and dental hygienists, and for the revocation and suspension of such licenses and registrations, subject to appeal, and for their reinstatement; defining the powers and duties of the State Dental Council and Examining Board and the Department of Public Instruction; providing penalties; and repealing existing laws," providing for biennial registration and fixing fees.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Penn- The Dental Law. sylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Clause (j) of section 3, sections 4 and 8, act of May 1, 1933 (P. L. 216), known as "The Dental Law." are amended to read:

Clause (j), section 3, sections 4 and 8, act of May 1, 1933, P. L. 216, amended.

Section 3. General Powers of the State Dental Council and Examining Board.—The State Dental Council and Examining Board (hereinafter called the board), created, appointed, and organized in accordance with the provisions of the Administrative Code, and its amendments, shall have power:

(j) To provide for, regulate, and require all persons licensed in accordance with the provisions of this act to register [annually] biennially with the board; to prescribe the form of such registrations; to require, as a condition precedent to such [annual] biennial registration, the payment of such [annual] biennial registration fee as shall be fixed according to law; to issue [annual] biennial registration certificates to such persons; and to suspend or revoke the license or registration of such persons as fail, refuse or neglect to register [annually] biennially, or pay such fee. The Department of Public Instruction shall be required to publish [annually] biennially a list of the persons registered for that particular [year] biennium.

Section 4. Fees.—The fee for an applicant for examination and licensure to practice dentistry or as a dental hygienist in this Commonwealth shall be fixed by the Department of Public Instruction in accordance with existing law. It shall be the duty of all persons now qualified and engaged in the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene, or who shall hereafter be licensed by the board, to register [annually] biennially with said board, and pay for each such [annual] biennial registration [such] a fee [as may be fixed by the Department of Public Instruction] which shall be ten dollars (\$10) for persons engaged in the practice of dentistry and four dollars (\$4) for persons engaged in the practice of dental hygiene.

Section 8. Status of Existing Practitioners Preserved.—Any person licensed or legally authorized to practice dentistry or as a dental hygienist in this Commonwealth at the time this act takes effect shall thereafter continue to possess the same rights and privileges with respect to the practice of dentistry or as a dental hygienist without being required to be licensed anew under the provisions of this act, subject, however, to the power of the board, as provided in this act, to suspend or revoke the license of any such person for any of the causes set forth in this act, and subject to the power of the board to require any such person to register [annually] biennially with the board, as provided in this act.

Section 10 of the act, amended April 30, 1937, P. L. 554, further amended.

Section 2. Section 10 of the act, amended April 30, 1937 (P. L. 554), is amended to read:

Section 10. Penaltics.—It is unlawful for any person to practice dentistry, or to hold himself or herself out as a practitioner of or entitled or authorized to practice dentistry, or to assume any title of "dentist," "dental surgeon," or other letters or titles in connection with his or her name which in any way represent him or her as being engaged in the practice of dentistry or authorized so to do, unless he or she has been duly licensed, registered, and authorized to engage in such practice under the provisions of this act.

It is unlawful for any person to practice dentistry or as a dental hygienist under a name other than that on his or her license and [annual] biennial registration, or to practice under the name on his or her license and [annual] biennial registration with any addition thereto, except a purely technical appellation such as "Dentist," "D.D.S.," "Orthodontist" or other word or letters pertaining strictly to the practice of dentistry, or to induce any person to practice dentistry or as a dental hygienist in violation of this act.

It is unlawful for any person to sell, offer to sell or barter or exchange any diploma or document conferring or purporting to confer any dental degree or any license or registration certificate issued according to law regulating the licensing of dentists or dental hygienists, or to alter any such document with fraudulent intent, or to use it as a license or registration certificate to practice dentistry under an assumed name, or to make any false statement in an affidavit relating to or in an application for a license.

It is unlawful for any person to practice dentistry or as a dental hygienist unless his or her license and [annual] biennial registration certificate are displayed in the office in which he or she is practicing dentistry or as a dental hygienist.

It is unlawful for a person practicing dentistry to employ a dental hygienist as his or her assistant unless such assistant is licensed and registered as a dental hygienist as required by this act and the rules and regulations of the board.

It is unlawful for any dentist to permit any dental hygienist operating under his general supervision to perform any operation other than those included within practice as a "Dental Hygienist," as defined by section two of this act.

It is unlawful for any dental hygienist to perform any of the operations included in practice as a "Dental Hygienist," as defined by section two of this act, except under the general supervision of a licensed and registered dentist.

Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, or any other provisions of this act, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five hundred dollars, or to suffer imprisonment not exceeding six months, or both, in the discretion of the court.

Section 3. This act shall take effect in thirty days.

Approved—The 15th day of December, A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 657

## AN ACT

Amending the act of July 12, 1919 (P. L. 933), entitled "An act to regulate the practice of architecture in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania by providing for the examination and registration of architects by a State Board of Examiners; defining the \*power and duties of said board of examiners; and providing penalties for the violation of this act," providing for biennial renewal of certificates and changing fees in accordance therewith.

Effective date.

<sup>\* &</sup>quot;powers" in original.