dollars (\$5)] ten dollars (\$10). [or the amount the department may determine] The fees required by this act shall be paid into the State Treasury for the use of the Commonwealth.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in thirty days.

APPROVED-The 15th day of December, A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 659

AN ACT

Amending the act of March 19, 1909 (P. L. 46), entitled, as amended, "An act to regulate the practice of osteopathy and surgery in the State of Pennsylvania; to provide for the establishment of a State Board of Osteopathic Examiners; to define the powers and duties of said Board of Osteopathic Examiners; to provide for the examining and licensing of osteopathic physicians and surgeons in this State; and to provide penalties for the violation of this act," providing for biennial registration.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Penn- Osteopathy. sylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 13, act of March 19, 1909 (P. L. 46), entitled, as amended, "An act to regulate the practice of osteopathy and surgery in the State of Pennsylvania: to provide for the establishment of a State Board of Osteopathic Examiners; to define the powers and duties of said Board of Osteopathic Examiners; to provide for the examining and licensing of osteopathic physicians and surgeons in this State; and to provide penalties for the violation of this act," amended May 31, 1957 (P. L. 213), is amended to read:

Section 13. From and after the approval of this act, no person shall enter upon or continue the practice of osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery in the State of Pennsylvania unless he or she has complied with the provisions of this act. It shall be the duty of all persons now qualified and engaged in the practice of osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery, or who shall hereafter be licensed by the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners to engage in such practice in this Commonwealth, to reg- Registration. ister with the said State Board of Osteopathic Examiners as practitioners, on or before the first day of January, one thousand nine hundred and twenty-six, and thereafter to register with said board in like manner [annually] *biennially* on or before the thirty-first day of October of each succeeding [year] biennium. The form and method of such registration shall be provided for by such board in such manner as will enable it to carry into effect the purposes of this act. The said State Board

Section 13, act of March 19, 1909, P. L. 46, amended May 31, 1957, P. L. 213, further amended.

Compliance with provisions of this act a prerequisite to practice osteopathy in this State.

1759

Effective date.

of Osteopathic Examiners shall be entitled to demand for each [annual] biennial registration a fee of [five] ten dollars. [or such other sum as shall be fixed by the Department of Public Instruction under authority of law] The fee shall, in all cases, accompany the application for such registration. All fees received hereunder shall, unless otherwise provided by law, be used by the said board in carrying out the provisions of this act.

Any person licensed and engaged in the practice of osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery who shall fail, neglect, or refuse to [annually] *biennially* register with the State Board of Osteopathic Examiners as above provided shall be subject to a penalty for the first offense not to exceed twenty-five dollars, and for any second or subsequent offense to a penalty not exceeding fifty dollars, such penalties to be fixed by the Board of Osteopathic Examiners in its rules and regulations.

The board shall notify any person so failing to register by registered mail of any penalty so imposed, and if the same is not paid within thirty days after receipt of said notice it may be collected by suit in the same manner as debts of like amount are now by law collectible. All fines so imposed and collected shall be paid to the board and shall by it be paid into the State Treasury. The Board of Osteopathic Examiners may also revoke the license to engage in the practice of osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery of any person who shall fail or refuse to register [annually] *biennially* after notice of the imposition of a penalty as above provided.

Any person who shall practice or attempt to practice osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery, as defined in this act, in treating diseases or any ailment whatsoever of the human body, or who shall use any of the terms or letters, -osteopath, osteopathists, osteopathy, doctor of osteopathy, diplomat in osteopathy, or D.O., or any other titles or letters, under such circumstances as to induce the belief that the person who uses such terms is engaged in the practice of osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery, without having first obtained the license herein provided for. or contrary to the provisions of this act; or who shall, under any other term cr name, practice or attempt to practice osteopathy or osteopathy and surgery as defined in this act; or who, for the purpose of obtaining such license, shall falsely represent himself or herself to be the holder of a diploma as herein provided,---shall be deemed guilty of a misclemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof in the court of quarter sessions of the county wherein the offense shall have been committed, shall pay a fine of not less than one hundred dollars, nor more than five hundred dollars, or by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than thirty days nor more than

Failure to register.

Penalty.

Collection of penalties.

Disposition of fines.

Revocation of licenses.

Violation of provisions of this act.

Misdemeanor.

Penalty.

ninety days, for each offense, either or both, at the discretion of the court: Provided, however, That nothing Proviso. contained in this act shall be construed as affecting the so-called practice of medicine.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in thirty days.

APPROVED-The 15th day of December, A. D. 1959.

DAVID L. LAWRENCE

No. 660

AN ACT

Amending the act of March 30, 1917 (P. L. 21), entitled "An act defining optometry; and relating to the right to practice optometry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and making certain exceptions; and providing a Board of Optometrical Education, Examination, and Licensure, and means and methods whereby the right to practice optometry may be obtained; and providing for the means to carry out the provisions of this act; and providing for revocation or suspension of licenses given by said board, and providing penalties for violations thereof; and repealing all acts or parts of acts inconsistent therewith," providing for biennial registration and changing fees in accordance therewith.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Penn- Optometry. sylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. The first paragraph of section 7, act of March 30, 1917 (P. L. 21), entitled "An act defining optometry; and relating to the right to practice optometry in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and making certain exceptions; and providing a Board of Optometrical Education, Examination, and Licensure, and means and methods whereby the right to practice optometry may be obtained; and providing for the means to carry out the provisions of this act; and providing for revocation or suspension of licenses given by said board, and providing penalties for violations thereof; and repealing all acts or parts of acts inconsistent therewith," amended May 25, 1937 (P. L. 795), is amended to read:

Section 7. The State Board of Optometrical Exam- Fees. iners shall charge the following fees for examination, registration, and renewals of certificates: The sum of twenty-five dollars for a standard examination, and two dollars for each branch office license. Every registered optometrist who desires to continue the practice of optometry shall [annually] biennially, on or before the first day of January in each biennium, pay to the secretary of the board a renewal registration fee of [five] ten dollars per [annum] biennium for which he shall

First paragraph, section 7, act of March 30, 1917, P. L. 21, amended May 25, 1937, P. L. 795, further cmanded amended.

Effective date.