sion thereof, or any judge, juror, justice, referee or arbitrator, in any bill, action, suit, complaint, indictment, controversy, matter or thing whatsoever, depending or which shall depend before him or them, is guilty of bribery, a misdemeanor, and on conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five hundred dollars (\$500), or to undergo imprisonment by separate or solitary confinement at labor not exceeding one (1) year, or both.

The member of assembly, or officer, or employe of the Commonwealth or of any political subdivision thereof, or any judge, juror, justice, referee, or arbitrator, who shall accept or receive, or agree to accept or receive such bribe, is guilty of receiving a bribe, a felony, and on conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars (\$1,000), or to undergo imprisonment by separate or solitary confinement at labor not exceeding five (5) years, or both.

Act effective immediately.

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED-The 31st day of July, A. D. 1963.

WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 219

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 6, 1937 (P. L. 200), entitled "An act licensing and regulating the business of pawnbrokers; providing for the issuance of licenses by the Secretary of Banking; authorizing the Secretary of Banking to make examinations and issue regulations; limiting the interest and charges on loans; and prescribing penalties for the violation of this act," authorizing loans on securities.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 32, act of April 6, 1937 (P. L. 200), known as the "Pawnbrokers License Act," is amended to read:

Section 32. Interpretation of Act.—The provisions of this act are severable, and if any of its provisions shall be held unconstitutional, the decision of the court shall not affect or impair any of the remaining provisions of this act. It is hereby declared to be the legislative intent that this act would have been adopted had such unconstitutional provisions not been included herein. Nothing in this act shall be construed so as to prevent any pawnbroker from granting a loan to any pledgor upon the deposit or pledge of stocks, bonds or other

Pawnbrokers License Act.

Section 32, act of April 6, 1937, P. L. 200, amended. securities: Provided, That such loan shall not be granted in excess of three hundred dollars (\$300).

Section headings shall not be taken to govern or limit the scope of the sections of this act. The singular shall include the plural and the masculine shall include the feminine or neuter.

APPROVED—The 31st day of July, A. D. 1963.

WILLIAM W. SCRANTON

No. 220

AN ACT

Amending the act of April 6, 1937 (P. L. 200), entitled "An act licensing and regulating the business of pawnbrokers; providing for the issuance of licenses by the Secretary of Banking; authorizing the Secretary of Banking to make examinations and issue regulations; limiting the interest and charges on loans; and prescribing penalties for the violation of this act," increasing the minimum on certain interest and charges, further providing for lost tickets, removing certain limitations of renewals of loans, requiring notice of sale when the loan is seven dollars or more, and requiring notice of surplus when the surplus is fifty cents or more.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Pawnbrokers License Act.

Section 1. Subsection (C) of section 12, act of April 6, 1937 (P. L. 200), known as the "Pawnbrokers License Act," amended July 25, 1953 (P. L. 586), is amended to read:

Section 12. Interest and Charges.---

* * * * *

(C) A minimum of twenty-five cents (\$.25) on loans of three dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$3.99), or less, a minimum of fifty cents (\$.50) on loans of more than three dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$3.99) and not in excess of six dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$6.99), a minimum of seventy-five cents (\$.75) on loans of more than six dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$6.99) and not in excess of [eleven dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$11.99)] nine dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$9.99), and a minimum of one dollar (\$1.00) on loans in excess of [eleven dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$11.99)] ten dollars (\$10) and not exceeding fourteen dollars and ninety-nine cents (\$14.99), and a minimum of one dollar and fifty cents (\$1.50) on loans in excess of fifteen dollars (\$15), may be collected on any loan for interest and charges.

Subsection (C), section 12, act of April 6, 1937, P. L. 200, amended July 25, 1953, P. L. 586, further amended.