LAWS OF PENNSYLVANIA,

in which the seat of government is or may be located in the disposition of the business of the Commonwealth, the said judges are hereby authorized to appoint and set the salaries of stenographers and clerks provided the cost of such help shall not exceed the sum of seven thousand two hundred fifty-eight dollars (\$7258) per annum for each of said judges, and a like sum of seven thousand two hundred fifty-

eight dollars (\$7258) for an administrative assistant to such courts.

Such salaries shall be paid by the Commonwealth. Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED-The 3rd day of May, A. D. 1968.

RAYMOND P. SHAFER

No. 53

AN ACT

HB 551

Amending the act of June 24, 1939 (P. L. 872), entitled "An act to consolidate, amend and revise the penal laws of the Commonwealth," excluding the sale of antiques from prohibitions against Sunday sales.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 699.10, act of June 24, 1939 (P. L. 872), known as "The Penal Code," amended July 19, 1967 (Act No. 51), is amended to read:

Section 699.10. Selling Certain Personal Property on Sunday.— Whoever engages on Sunday in the business of selling, or sells or offers for sale, on such day, at retail, clothing and wearing apparel, clothing accessories, furniture, housewares, home, business or office furnishings, household, business or office appliances, hardware, tools, paints, building and lumber supply materials, jewelry, silverware, watches, clocks, luggage, musical instruments and recordings, or toys, excluding novelties, [and] souvenirs and antiques, shall, upon convic-

tion thereof in a summary proceeding for the first offense, be sentenced to pay a fine of not exceeding one hundred dollars (\$100), and for the second or any subsequent offense committed within one year after conviction for the first offense, be sentenced to pay a fine of not exceeding two hundred dollars (\$200) or undergo imprisonment not exceeding thirty days in default thereof. No individual who by reason of his religious conviction observes a day other than Sunday as his day of rest and actually refrains from labor or secular business on that day shall be prohibited from selling the above enumerated articles on Sunday in a business establishment which is closed on such other day.

The term "a day other than Sunday" as used herein shall mean any consecutive twenty-four hour period.

<u>As used in this section, the term "antique" shall mean an item</u> over one hundred years old, or ethnographic objects made in traditional aboriginal styles and made at least fifty years prior to their sale.

Each separate sale or offer to sell shall constitute a separate offense.

Information charging violations of this section shall be brought within seventy-two hours after the commission of the alleged offense and not thereafter.

APPROVED-The 3rd day of May, A. D. 1968.

RAYMOND P. SHAFER

No. 54

AN ACT

HB 1481

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," increasing the penalty for violations of inspection station regulations.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Penalty.—Any owner of an official inspection station who by himself, agent, servant or employe, or any manager, operator or employe thereof, or any other person who violates any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) nor more than [fifty dollars (\$50.00)] two hundred dollars (\$200.00)

and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days.

* * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED-The 3rd day of May, A. D. 1968.

RAYMOND P. SHAFER