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No. 87

AN ACT

I-lB 334

Amendingtheactof April 12, 1951 (P. L 90),entitled“An actrelatingto alcoholic
liquors, alcohol and malt and brewed beverages; amending, revising,
consolidatingandchangingthe lawsrelatingthereto;regulatingandrestricting
the manufacture, purchase, sale, possession,consumption, importation,
transportation,furnishing,holdingin bond,holdingin storage,traffic in anduse
of alcoholic liquors, alcoholand malt andbrewedbeveragesand the persons
engaged or employed therein; defining the powers and duties of the
PennsylvaniaLiquor Control Board; providing for the establishmentand
operationof Stateliquor stores,for the paymentof certain licensefeesto the
respectivemunicipalitiesandtownships,for the abatementof certainnuisances
and, in certain cases,for searchand seizure without warrant; prescribing
penaltiesand forfeitures; providing for local option, and repealingexisting
laws,” further regulatingthe filing of applicationsfor renewalof licenses.

The GeneralAssemblyof the Commonwealthof Pennsylvaniahereby
enactsas follows:

Section1. Subsection(a) of section470,actof April 12, 1951 (P.L 90),
known as the “Liquor Code,” is amendedto read:

Section 470. Renewal of Licenses; Temporary Provisions for
Licenseesin ArmedService.—(a) All applicationsfor renewalof licenses
under the provisions of this article shall be filed with a new bond,
requisitelicenseandfiling feesat leastsixty daysbeforethe expiration
dateof same[andnot thereafter.]:Provided, however,That theboard, in
its discretion, mayaccept a renewal applicationfiled less than sixty
daysbeforetheexpirationdateofthelicensewith therequiredbondand
fees, upon reasonablecauseshown and the paymentof an additional
filing ftc ofonehundreddollars ($100.00)for latefiling: Andprovided
further, Thatexceptwherethefailure tofile a renewalapplication on
or beforethe expiration date hascreateda licensequota vacancyafter
said expiration date which has beenfilled by the issuanceof a new
license,after suchexpiration date,but beforethe boardhas receiveda
renewalapplication within thetimeprescribedherein theboard, in its
discretion, may, after hearing, accept a renewal application filed
within ten monthsafter the expiration date of the licensewith the
requiredbondandfeesupon thepaymentofan additionalfiling feeof
two hundredfifty dollars ($250.00)for late filing. Whereany such
renewalapplication isfiled lessthan sixty daysbefore the expiration
date, or subsequentto the expiration date, no licenseshall issueupon
the filing of the renewal application until the matter is finally
determinedby the board and if an appeal is takenfrom the board’s
action thecourtsshall notordertheissuanceoftherenewallicenseuntil
final determinationof the matterby the courts.A renewalapplication
will notbeconsideredfiled unlessaccompaniedby a newbondand the
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requisitefiling and licensefeesandany additional filing feerequired
by this section.Unlesstheboardshallhavegiventendays’previousnotice
to the applicantof objectionsto the renewalof his license,basedupon
violation by the licenseeor his servants,agentsor exnployesof any of the
laws of the Commonwealthor regulationsof the boardrelating to the
manufacture,transportation,use,storage,importation, possessionor sale
of liquors, alcohol or malt or brewedbeverages,or the conduct of a
licensedestablishment,or unlesstheapplicanthasby his own actbecome
apersonof ill repute,or unlessthepremisesdo notmeetthe requirements
of this act or the regulationsof the board,the licenseof a licenseeshall
be renewed[when the applicantshall file with the boarda new appioved
bond andshallpaythe requisitefiling feeandlicensefeespecifiedin thisact].

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROvED—The1st day of August, A. D. 1969.

RAYMOND P. SHAFER

The foregoingis a true andcorrectcopy of Act of the GeneralAssembly
No. 87.

Secretar’y of the Commonwealth.


