No. 153

AN ACT

HB 856

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," further providing for signal lamps on school buses.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Subsection (b) of section 840, act of April 29, 1959 (P. L. 58), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended by adding after clause (9) thereof, a new clause and clause (12) is amended to read:

Section 840. School Buses; Safety Requirements.—

- No person shall own or operate a school bus carrying school children on the highways of this Commonwealth that, in addition to the other requirements of this act, does not conform with the following:
- (9.1) On and after September 1, 1970, every school bus shall be equipped with two (2) alternately flashing amber signal lamps of a sealed beam type approved by the secretary visible from the front and two (2) alternately flashing amber signal lamps of a sealed beam type approved by the secretary visible from the rear to be activated not more than three hundred (300) feet nor less than one hundred fifty (150) feet from the bus stop and until the bus stops. Buses in operation on September 1, 1970 may install such flashing amber signal lamps in existing connection with lighting sustems. Buses manufactured shall be so equipped.

The provisions of clause (7) of this section requiring labeling shall apply to all buses when used exclusively for the transportation of school children, whether or not the bus is owned and operated by a person or company subject to the jurisdiction of the Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission, but none of the other provisions of said clause or of [clause (9)] clauses (9) and (9.1) of this section shall apply to buses subject to the jurisdiction of the Public Utility Commission.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section, shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than ten dollars (\$10.00) and not more than twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of the payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not less than five (5) days and not more than ten (10) days.

* * *

Section 2. Section 1018 of the act, amended July 29, 1965 (P. L. 296), is amended to read:

Section 1018. Passing School Buses.—

- (a) On highways having roadways not divided by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of any vehicle approaching or overtaking a school bus conforming to the requirements of this act, which is being used for the transportation of children and which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging one or more school children, shall stop his vehicle not less than ten (10) feet from the school bus and keep his vehicle stationary until every school child shall have entered the bus or every school child leaving the school bus at that place shall have alighted and reached the side of the highway.
- (b) On highways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of any vehicle overtaking a school bus which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging one or more school children, shall stop his vehicle not less than ten (10) feet from the school bus and keep his vehicle stationary until every school child shall have entered the bus or until every school child leaving the school bus at that place shall have alighted and reached the side of the highway.
- (c) On highways having dual or multiple roadways separated by safety islands or physical traffic separation installations, the driver of a vehicle on another roadway approaching a school bus which has stopped for the purpose of receiving or discharging any school child shall reduce the speed of his vehicle to not more than fifteen (15) miles per hour, and shall not resume normal speed until his vehicle has passed the school bus and any child who may have alighted therefrom or is about to enter the school bus.
- (d) Whenever a school bus is parked at the curb for the purpose of receiving children directly from a school or discharging children to enter a school which is located on the same side of the street as that on which the school bus is parked, drivers of vehicles shall be permitted to pass the school bus without stopping but at a speed not in excess of fifteen (15) miles per hour.
- (d.1) Whenever a school bus has stopped or parked for the purpose of receiving or discharging school children, the driver of the school bus shall operate the alternately flashing *red* signal lamps from the time the school bus has stopped until every child has reached a place of safety. If a vehicle regularly used for the transportation of school children is not equipped with alternately flashing *red* signal lamps, the driver shall, in lieu thereof, flash the two (2) front and two (2) rear lamps simultaneously.
- (d.2) The driver of every school bus being used for the transportation of children shall start operating the alternately flashing amber light signal lamps beginning not more than three hundred (300) nor less than one hundred fifty (150) feet before stopping to pick up or

discharge school children and until the bus is stopped.

- (e) The driver of any school bus being used for the transportation of children shall not start his bus until every child who may have alighted therefrom shall have reached a place of safety.
- (f) The Secretary of Highways shall erect and maintain, at all major vehicular entrance points into this Commonwealth from adjoining states, signs giving notice of the provisions of this section regulating the passing of school buses and the penalty for violation thereof.

Penalty.—Any person violating any of the provisions of this section shall, upon summary conviction before a magistrate, be sentenced to pay a fine of twenty-five dollars (\$25.00) and costs of prosecution, and, in default of payment thereof, shall undergo imprisonment for not more than ten (10) days.

Section 3. This act shall take effect September 1, 1971.

APPROVED—The 9th day of December, A. D. 1969.

RAYMOND P. SHAFER

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly No. 153.

Secretary of the Commonwealth.