No. 145

AN ACT

HB 457

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P.L.58), entitled "An act consolidating and revising the Vehicle Code, the Tractor Code, the Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Act and other acts relating to the ownership, possession and use of vehicles and tractors," further providing penalties for certain violations involving certificates of title, registration cards, operators' licenses and learners' permits.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 211, act of April 29, 1959 (P.L.58), known as "The Vehicle Code," is amended to read:

Section 211. Other Penalties.—[Any person who shall be convicted of any of the following offenses, shall be guilty of a felony, and shall, upon conviction thereof in a court of quarter sessions, be sentenced to pay the following fines and costs of prosecution, or to undergo imprisonment for the terms indicated, or both, for each offense:

(1) Altering or forging any certificate of title to a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer, or any assignment thereof, or possessing or using any such certificate or assignment knowing the same to have been altered or forged, not more than one thousand dollars (\$1,000.00), or not more than two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment.

(2) Procuring or attempting to procure certificate of title to a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer, or passing or attempting to pass certificate of title or any assignment thereof to such a vehicle, knowing or having reason to believe that such vehicle has been stolen, not more than one thousand dollars (\$1,000.00), or not more than two (2) years, or both such fine and imprisonment.]

Any person who shall fraudulently make, forge, alter, (a)counterfeit or otherwise duplicate or who shall attempt in any manner to make, forge, alter, counterfeit or otherwise duplicate the form of a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer or any assignment thereof or an operator's license, registration card or learner's permit, issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, whether the form of same be complete or not, with the intent to produce a false or counterfeit certificate of title, operator's license, registration card or learner's permit, or any person who causes or procures to be fraudulently made, forged, altered, counterfeited or duplicated any form of a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer or any assignment thereof or an operator's license, registration card or learner's permit issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, whether the form of same be complete or not, or who shall knowingly and willingly possess, publish, purchase, sell, distribute, tender or use any such forged, altered,

counterfeited or duplicated form of a certificate of title, operator's license, registration card or learner's permit, shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars (\$5,000.00) or suffer imprisonment by separate and solitary confinement at labor for a term not to exceed five (5) years, or both.

(b) Any person who has in his possession any stamping device, stencil, machinery, equipment or other material of any nature whatsoever designed to produce a forged, altered, counterfeited or duplicated form of a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or any assignment thereof, or an operator's license, registration card or learner's permit issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, whether the form of same be complete or incomplete, with the intent to produce a forged, altered, counterfeited or duplicated form of a certificate of title, operator's license, registration card or learner's permit, shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding five thousand dollars (\$5,000.00) or suffer imprisonment by separate and solitary confinement at labor for a term not to exceed five (5) years, or both.

person who knowingly possesses, purchases, sells. (c) Any distributes, tenders, passes or attempts to purchase, sell, distribute, tender, or pass a certificate of title or registration card for a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer or any assignment thereof, whether issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, knowing or having reason to believe that such motor vehicle has been stolen, or any person who possesses, purchases, sells, distributes, tenders, passes or attempts to purchase, sell, distribute, tender or pass an operator's license or learner's permit issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, knowing or having reason to believe that such operator's license or learner's permit has been stolen, shall be guilty of a felony and upon conviction thereof, shall be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding two thousand dollars (\$2,000.00) or suffer imprisonment by separate and solitary confinement at labor for a term not to exceed two (2) years, or both.

(d) Possession of a forged, altered, counterfeited or duplicated form of a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer or any assignment thereof, or an operator's license, registration card or learner's permit, issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, whether the form of same be complete or incomplete, or the possession of any stamping device, stencil, machinery, equipment or other material of any nature whatsoever designed to produce a forged, altered, counterfeited or duplicated form of a certificate of title for a motor vehicle, trailer, semi-trailer or any assignment thereof, or an operator's license, registration card or learner's permit issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, whether the form of same be complete or incomplete, or possession of any valid certificate of title or registration card for a motor vehicle, trailer or semi-trailer or any assignment thereof issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state for a motor vehicle which has been stolen, or the possession of a valid operator's license or learner's permit issued by the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or any other state, which operator's license or learner's permit shall have been stolen, shall be prima facie evidence of the fraudulent intent of the possessor thereof to evade the provisions of section 211 (a), (b) and (c) of this act.

APPROVED-The 30th day of November, A. D. 1971.

MILTON J. SHAPP

The foregoing is a true and correct copy of Act of the General Assembly No. 145.

C. DE Lover Tucker

Secretary of the Commonwealth.