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No. 332

AN ACT

HB 71

Amending the act of April 29, 1959 (P.L.58, No.32), entitled “An act
consolidatingand revising theVehicle CQde,the TractorCode,the Motor
Vehicle FinancialResponsibilityAct andotheractsrelatingtotheownership,
possessionanduseof vehiclesand tractors,”providing for registrationfees
for school busesand the dispositionof certain finesand forfeitures.

TheGeneralAssemblyoftheCommonwealthof Pennsylvaniahereby
enactsas follows:

Section1. Section704,actof April29, 1959(P.L.58,No.32),known
as “The Vehicle Code,” amendedMarch 3, 1970 (P.L.88, No.39), is
amendedto read:

Section704. CommercialMotor Vehicles,SchoolBusesandTruck
Tractors.—

(a) Thefee for annualregistrationof a commercialmotorvehicle
(excepta schoolbus) or truck tractor with pneumatictires shall be
determinedby its registeredgross weight,accordingto the following
table:

RegisteredGross
Class. Weight in Pounds. Fee.

1 5,000 $26.00
2 7,000 36.00
3 9,000 52.00
4 11,000 64.00
5 14,000 80.00
6 17,000 100.00
7 21,000 136.00
8 26,000 168.00
9 30,000 200.00

10 33,000 230.00
11 36,000 260.00
12 40,000 290.00
13 44,000 315.00
14 48,000 345.00
15 52,000 380.00
16 56,000 410.00
17 60,000 440.00
18 64,000 470.00
19 68,000 500.00
20 73,280 535.00

(b) The fee for annualregistrationof a commercialmotorvehicle.
(excepta schoolbus)or trucktractor with cushionor solid rubbertires
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shallbeoneandone-half(1-V2) timesthefee shownin subsection(a)for
a pneumatic-tiredvehicleof the sameregisteredgrossweight.

(c) Thefeefor annual registrationof a schoolbusshall betwenty-
four dollars($24.00).For thepurposeofthis subsectiona “schoolbus”
shall beany motor vehicleof thebustype,otherthan a “motor bus”or
“motor omnibus,” operatedunder contract with any schooldistrict,
privateschoolorparochialschoolof this Commonwealthor ownedby
any private schoolor parochialschoolof this Commonwealthfor the
transportationof schoolchildren or children betweentheir-homesand
SundaySchooL

Section2. Section1301 of theact,subsection(a)amendedMarch2,
1970 (P.L.66, No.29), is amendedto read:

Section1301. Dispositionof Finesand Forfeitures.—
(a) All fines andpenaltiescollected underthe provisionsof thisact

for violationsof the same,andall bail forfeited undersaid provisions,
shall bepaid to the department,andtransmittedto the StateTreasury,
andcreditedtothe “GeneralFund,”exceptthosecollectedforviolations
oftheprovisionsofsections9O3,905,1002,1011,1015, 1016,1019,1021,
1028,1030,1042and1043ofthis act,committedwithin cities,boroughs,
incorporatedtowns and townships,other than thosecommittedon
interstatehighwaysand thePennsylvaniaTurnpike and extensions,
which fines and penaltiesand all bail forfeited shall be paid to the
treasurerof thecity, borough,incorporatedtown ortownship,wherein
the violation occurred,andexceptthosecollectedfor violationsof the
provisionsasto weight,which fines,penaltiesandforfeitedbail shallbe
paid to the treasurerof the city, borough, incorporated town or
townshipwhereinthe violation occurred.All suchfines andpenalties
collected for violations of section 1002 committed anywhere on
interstatehighwaysandthePennsylvaniaTurnpikeandextensionsshall
bepaidto the departmentand transmittedto theStateTreasury and
creditedto theMotorLicenseFund. All moneyspaid to anysuchcity,
borough,incorporatedtown or township,underthe provisionsof this
sectionshall beusedfor theconstruction,repairandmaintenanceof the
highwaysthereof: Provided,Thatall fines andpenaltiescollected,and
all bail forfeited forviolationsof theprovisionsof section1037shallbe
paidtothe treasurerof thecountywhereinthe violation occurred,to be
used by such county for the payment of physicians’ fees for the
examinationof personsaccusedof violating the provisionsof the said
section. Any balanceremainingin the treasuryof the county at the
expirationof the calendaryearandnotpayablefor physicians’services
rendered,shall be used for countyhighwayand bridgepurposes.

(b) Sworn statementsof all fines andpenaltiesso collectedandall
bail forfeited shall also be madeby the magistrateor otherofficer,
imposingor receivingthe same,to the secretaryuponforms furnished
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by the department.Suchreportsshallbe mademonthly not later than
the tenth dayof the following month.

Penalty.—Anymagistrateor other officer, who shall fail to make
such monthlyreportsandreturns,or eitherof them,shallbe guilty of a
misdemeanorin office, and upon conviction thereof [in a court of
quartersessions]shallbe sentencedto paya fine of fivehundreddollars
($500.00) andcostsof prosecution,or undergoimprisonmentfor not
morethan sixty (60) days,or suffer bothsuchfine andimprisonment.

Section3. Thisact shall takeeffect immediately.

APPROVED—The30thday of December,A. D. 1974.

MILTON J. SHAPP

Theforegoingis a true andcorrectcopy ofAct of theGeneralAssembly
No. 332.

ci.
Secretaryof the Commonwealth.


