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AN ACT
SB 346

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further
providing for penalties for driving without a valid driver’s license.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Subsection (d) of section 1501 of Title 75, act of
November 25, 1970 (P.L.707, No.230), known as the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes, is amended to read:

§ 1501. Drivers required to be licensed.
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(d) Penalty.—Any person violating subsection (a) is guilty of a
summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine
of $200, except that, if the person charged furnishes satisfactory proof of
having held a [valid driver’s license issued during] driver’s license valid
on the last day of the preceding driver’s license period and no more than
[30 days have] one year has elapsed from the last date for renewal, the
fine shall be $25. No person charged with violating [subsections] subsec-
tion (a) or (b) shall be convicted if the person produces at the office of
the issuing authority [or the arresting police officer] within five days [a
driver’s license valid in this Commonwealth at the time of the arrest.] of
the violation:

(1) adriver’s license valid in this Commonwealth at the time of the
violation; or

(2) if the driver’s license is lost, stolen, destroyed or illegible,
evidence that the driver was licensed at the time of the violation.

Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.

APPROVED—The 1st day of July, A. D. 1981.
DICK THORNBURGH



