No. 1984-16

AN ACT

SB 152

Amending Title 30 (Fish) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for membership on the commission.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 301(a), (b) and (e) of Title 30 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

- § 301. Organization of commission.
- (a) Composition.—The Pennsylvania Fish Commission is continued as an independent administrative commission and shall consist of [nine] ten competent citizens of this Commonwealth who shall be appointed by the Governor by and with the advice and consent of two-thirds of the members elected to the Senate for terms of eight years and until their successors are appointed and qualified.
- (b) Qualifications.—[One member] Two members of the commission shall serve at-large and be experienced in boating and water safety education and be a registered boat owner in Pennsylvania. The two boatmen members shall represent the various geographical sections and boating-interests of this Commonwealth. The remaining eight members shall be persons well informed on the subject of conservation, restoration, fish and fishing and boats and boating and shall be appointed, insofar as practicable, on a bipartisan basis and from the various geographic districts of this Commonwealth so that at all times one and only one member shall be a resident of each of the following districts:
 - (1) First district, consisting of the counties of Erie, Crawford, Mercer, Lawrence, Venango, Butler, Warren, Forest and Clarion.
 - (2) Second district, consisting of the counties of Beaver, Allegheny, Washington, Greene, Armstrong, Indiana, Westmoreland and Fayette.
 - (3) Third district, consisting of the counties of McKean, Elk, Jefferson, Potter, Cameron, Clearfield, Clinton and Centre.
 - (4) Fourth district, consisting of the counties of Cambria, Somerset, Blair, Bedford, Huntingdon, Fulton, Mifflin and Juniata.
 - (5) Fifth district, consisting of the counties of Tioga, Lycoming, Union, Snyder, Bradford, Sullivan, Columbia, Montour and North-umberland.
 - (6) Sixth district, consisting of the counties of Franklin, Perry, Cumberland, Adams, Dauphin, York, Lebanon and Lancaster.
 - (7) Seventh district, consisting of the counties of Susquehanna, Wyoming, Luzerne, Lackawanna, Carbon, Wayne, Pike and Monroe.

SESSION OF 1984 Act 1984-16 91

(8) Eighth district, consisting of the counties of Schuylkill, Berks, Chester, Northampton, Lehigh, Bucks, Montgomery, Philadelphia and Delaware.

* * *

(e) Meetings, officers and quorum.—The commission shall have an office in the Harrisburg area and shall hold meetings in the Harrisburg area in January and July and at such other times and places within this Commonwealth as the commission shall designate for the transaction of business. At the meeting held in July of each year, the commission shall elect one of its members as president and one of its members as vice president who shall hold office for one year. [Five] Six members shall constitute a quorum.

* * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 24th day of February, A. D. 1984.

DICK THORNBURGH