No. 1985-49

AN ACT

SB 183

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for facilities for appellate judges; and extending the limitation periods in criminal cases where the victim is a child.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3703 and 5554 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

- § 3703. Local chamber facilities.
- [(a) General rule.—Each county shall furnish for each judge of the appellate courts of this Commonwealth who resides therein chamber facilities in conformity with general rules for such judge and his personal staff:
 - (1) in the county judicial center of such county; or
 - (2) if no such accommodations are available in the county judicial center, like accommodations in such building as may be selected by the county with the approval of the judge concerned.
- (b) Exception.—Subsection (a) shall not apply to any county in which the Pennsylvania Judicial Center may be located.]

The Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts shall furnish for each judge of the appellate courts of this Commonwealth chamber facilities in the county in which such judge resides in conformity with general rules for such judge and the personal staff of such judge from funds annually appropriated by the General Assembly.

§ 5554. Tolling of statute.

Except as provided by section 5553(e) (relating to disposition of proceedings within two years), the period of limitation does not run during any time when:

- (1) the accused is continuously absent from this Commonwealth or has no reasonably ascertainable place of abode or work within this Commonwealth; [or]
- (2) a prosecution against the accused for the same conduct is pending in this Commonwealth[.]; or
- (3) a child is under 18 years of age, where the crime involves injuries to the person of the child caused by the wrongful act, or neglect, or unlawful violence, or negligence of the child's parents or by a person responsible for the child's welfare, or any individual residing in the same home as the child, or a paramour of the child's parent.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED—The 10th day of July, A. D. 1985.

DICK THORNBURGH