No. 1987-13

AN ACT

SB 157

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for vehicular hazard signal lamps and for reporting recovered stolen vehicles.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 4305 and 7113(b) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 4305. Vehicular hazard signal lamps.

(a) General rule.—Simultaneous flashing of the two front and two rear signal lamps shall indicate a vehicular traffic hazard. The driver of a motor vehicle equipped with simultaneous flashing signals shall use the signals when the vehicle is stopped or disabled on a highway, except when the vehicle is stopped in compliance with a traffic-control device or when legally parked. Drivers of other vehicles shall exercise extraordinary care in approaching, overtaking and passing a vehicle displaying vehicular hazard warning signals.

(b) Use outside business and residence districts.—Outside of a business or residence district:

(1) The driver of a *motor* vehicle *or combination* equipped with simultaneous flashing signals shall use the signals when the vehicle is unable to maintain a speed of at least 25 miles per hour because of weather, grade or other similar factors or is unable to maintain a speed consistent with the normal flow of traffic.

(2) The driver of a bus equipped with simultaneous flashing signals shall use the signals when the bus is stopped with one or more wheels on the roadway between dusk and dawn for the purpose of receiving or discharging passengers.

(c) Use below minimum speed limit.—The driver of a *motor* vehicle or *combination* equipped with simultaneous flashing signals shall use the signals when the vehicle is not maintaining at least the minimum speed established in accordance with the provisions of section 3364 (relating to minimum speed regulation).

§ 7113. Reporting stolen and recovered vehicles.

* * *

(b) Recovered stolen vehicle.—Within 48 hours of the recovery or receiving notice of recovery of a stolen vehicle by the department to which the theft was originally reported, the police shall notify the owner of the vehicle. If the vehicle was recovered by a department other than the department to which the theft was originally reported, the department that recovered the vehicle shall promptly notify the department to which the theft was originally reported, which department in turn shall notify the owner. If the vehicle was SESSION OF 1987

recovered without their knowledge, the owner shall notify the same police department to which the theft was originally reported. On recovering or receiving and verifying the report of recovery of a stolen vehicle, the police shall notify the State Police. The State Police shall notify the department of the recovery.

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED-The 25th day of June, A. D. 1987.

• .

ROBERT P. CASEY