No. 1999-38

AN ACT

HB 963

Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for deposits in the Judicial Computer System Augmentation Account and for sentencing procedure for murder of the first degree.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 3733(a) and 9711(i) of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

§ 3733. Deposits into account.

(a) General rule.-

(1) Beginning July 1, 1987, and thereafter, the total of all fines, fees and costs collected by any division of the unified judicial system which are in excess of the amount collected from such sources in the fiscal year 1986-1987 shall be deposited in the Judicial Computer System Augmentation Account. Any fines, fees or costs which are allocated by law or otherwise directed to the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission, to the Pennsylvania Game Commission or to counties and municipalities, to the Crime Victim's Compensation Board, to the Commission on Crime and Delinquency for victim-witness services grants under section 477.15(c) of the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.177, No.175), known as The Administrative Code of 1929, to rape crisis centers, to the Emergency Medical Services Operating Fund or to domestic violence shelters shall not be affected by this subchapter.

(2) Beginning July 1, 1999, any fines, fees or costs which are allocated by law or otherwise directed to the Child Passenger Restraint Fund shall not be affected by this subchapter. * * *

§ 9711. Sentencing procedure for murder of the first degree.

(i) Record of death sentence to Governor.—[Within 90 days of the date a sentence of death is upheld by the Supreme Court] Where a sentence of death is upheld by the Supreme Court, the prothonotary of the Supreme Court shall transmit to the Governor a full and complete record of the trial, sentencing hearing, imposition of sentence [and review], opinion and order by the Supreme Court within 30 days of one of the following, whichever occurs first:

(1) the expiration of the time period for filing a petition for writ of certiorari or extension thereof where neither has been filed;

(2) the denial of a petition for writ of certiorari; or

(3) the disposition of the appeal by the United States Supreme Court, if that court grants the petition for writ of certiorari.

Notice of this transmission shall contemporaneously be provided to the Secretary of Corrections.

* * *

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED-The 12th day of October, A.D. 1999.

THOMAS J. RIDGE