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AN ACT
HB 129

Amending Title 74 (Transportation) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes,
providing for flying while impaired; and imposing penalties.
The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby
enacts as follows:

Section 1. Title 74 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended
by adding a chapter to read:

CHAPTER 65
FLYING WHILE IMPAIRED

Sec.

6501. Definitions.
6502. Offense.
6503. Penalty.
6504. Testing.
6505. Reporting.

§ 6501. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this chapter shall have the
meanings given to them in this section unless the context clearly indicates
otherwise:

“Flight crew.” Any person who performs or is assigned to perform any
duty in an aircraft during the time which the aircraft is undergoing preflight
inspection or maintenance or boarding or carrying passengers or crew or at
any time the aircraft is under power or in flight.

“Law enforcement officer.” Includes any officer with current certification
as provided for in 53 Pa.C.S. Ch. 21 Subch. D (relating to municipal police
education and training).

§ 6502. Offense.

(a) General rule—No individual may act or attempt to act as flight crew
of an aircraft in this Commonwealth:

(1) while under the influence of alcohol;

(2) while under the influence of a controlled substance which affects
the individual’s faculties in any way contrary to safety;

(3) when the alcohol concentration in the individual’s blood or breath,
as measured within two hours of the time of operation, or attempted
operation, is 0.02% or more;

(4) while under the influence of any combination of a controlled
substance and alcohol which affects the individual’s faculties in any way
contrary to safety; or
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(5) within eight hours after consumption of “liquor” or a “malt or
brewed beverage” as defined in section 102 of the act of April 12, 1951
(P.L.90, No.21), known as the Liquor Code.

(b) Owner—An owner of an aircraft or the person in charge of an
aircraft may not knowingly permit an individual to act or attempt to act as
flight crew of an aircraft if the individual is under the influence of alcohol or
a controlled substance, or any combination thereof, which affects the
individual’s faculties in any way contrary to safety.

§ 6503. Penalty.

(a) General rule—Except as provided in subsection (b), an individual
who violates section 6502 (relating to offense) commits a misdemeanor of
the second degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to all of the
following:

(1) To pay a fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $5,000.

(2) To imprisonment for not less than 72 consecutive hours.

(3) For a violation of section 6502(a), to undergo evaluation for
substance abuse and, if the evaluation indicates substance abuse, to
undergo treatment ordered by the court.

(b) Accidents.—An individual who violates section 6502 where there was
an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any
person or in damage to an aircraft or other property commits a misdemeanor
of the second degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced as follows:

(1) To pay a fine of not less than $5,000 nor more than $10,000.

(2) To undergo imprisonment for not less than 30 days.

(3) For a violation of section 6502(a), to undergo evaluation for
substance abuse and, if the evaluation indicates substance abuse, to
undergo treatment ordered by the court.

§ 6504. Testing.

(a) Prearrest.—If a law enforcement officer has reasonable grounds to
believe an individual has violated section 6502(a) (relating to offense), the
officer may request that the individual submit to a preliminary test of blood,
breath or urine on a device approved by the Department of Heaith for the
purpose of assisting the officer in determining whether the individual is in
violation of section 6502(a) and should be placed under arrest. It shall be the
duty of the law enforcement officer to inform the individual at the time of the
request of the penalties for refusal under subsection (c) and the reporting
requirements under section 6505 (relating to reporting). If the individual after
being notified of the penalties and reporting requirements refuses to submit to
chemical testing, the test shall not be conducted. Nothing in this section shall
be construed to require a law enforcement officer to request an individual to
submit to a chemical test prior to placing the individual under arrest for a
violation of section 6502(a).

(b) Postarrest—If an individual is arrested for violation of section
6502(a), the individual shall submit to one or more chemical tests of breath,
blood or urine for the purpose of determining the alcoholic content of blood
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or the presence of a controlled substance. It shall be the duty of the law
enforcement officer to inform the individual at the time of the request of the
penalties for refusal under subsection (c) and the reporting requirements
under section 6505. If the individual after being notified of the penalties and
reporting requirements refuses to submit to chemical testing, the test shall not
be conducted.

(c) Refusal.—Notwithstanding section 6503(1) (relating to penalty), an
individual who violates section 6502(a) and who refuses to submit to a test
requested or required under subsection (a) or (b) shall be sentenced to paya
fine of not less than $2,500 nor more than $5,000.

(d) Test results admissible in evidence.—In a civil proceeding arising out
of a violation of section 6502 or in a prosecution under section 6502, the
amount of alcohol or the presence of a controlled substance in the
individual’s blood as shown by chemical testing, conducted by a qualified
individual using approved equipment, of the individual’s breath, blood or
urine shall be admissible in evidence. The following apply:

(1) Chemicatl tests of breath must be performed on devices approved
by the Department of Health using procedures prescribed jointly by
regulations of the Department of Health and the Department of
Transportation. Devices must have been calibrated and tested for accuracy
within a period of time and in a manner specified by regulations of the
departments. For purposes of breath testing, a “qualified individual”
means an individual who has fulfilled the training requirement in the use
of the equipment in a training program approved by the departments. A
certificate or log showing that a device was calibrated and tested for
accuracy and that the device was accurate shall be presumptive evidence
of those facts in every proceeding in which a violation of this chapter is
charged.

(2) (i) Chemical tests of blood or urine, if conducted by a facility

located in this Commonwealth, must be performed by a clinical

laboratory licensed and approved by the Department of Health for this
purpose using procedures and equipment prescribed by the Department
of Health or by a Pennsylvania State Police criminal laboratory. For
purposes of blood and urine testing, a “qualified individual” means an
individual who is authorized to perform those chemical tests under the
act of September 26, 1951 (P.L.1539, No.389), known as The Clinical

Laboratory Act.

(ii) For purposes of blood and urine testing to determine blood
alcohol or controlled substance content levels, the procedures and
equipment prescribed by the Department of Health shall be reviewed
within 120 days of the effective date of this subparagraph and at least
every two years thereafter to ensure that consideration is given to
scientific and technological advances so that testing conducted in
accordance with the prescribed procedures utilizing the prescribed
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equipment will be as accurate and reliable as science and technology
permit.
(3) Chemical tests of blood or urine, if conducted by a facility located
outside this Commonwealth, must be performed:

(i) by a facility licensed and approved by the Department of Health
for this purpose; or

(ii) by a facility licensed to conduct the tests by the state in which
the facility is located and licensed pursuant to the Clinical Laboratory
Improvement Amendments of 1988 (Public Law 100-578, 102 Stat.
2903).

(e) Refusal admissible in evidence.—In a civil action arising out of a
violation of section 6502 or a prosecution under section 6502, the fact that
the individual refused to submit to chemical testing as required by subsection
(a) or (b) may be introduced in evidence along with other testimony
concerning the circumstances of the refusal. No presumptions shall arise
from this evidence, but it may be considered along with other factors
concerning the charge.

(f) Other evidence admissible.—This section shall not be construed as
limiting the introduction of any other competent evidence bearing upon the
question of the amount of alcohol or the presence of a controlled substance in
the defendant’s blood.

(g) Test results available to defendant.—Upon the request of the
individual tested or the individual charged under section 6502(b), the results
of a chemical test shall be made available to the individual or the individual’s
attorney.

(h) Test by personal physician.—The individual tested shall be permitted
to have a physician of the individual’s choosing administer an additional
breath, blood or urine chemical test, and the results of the test shall also be
admissible in evidence. The chemical testing given at the direction of the law
enforcement officer shall not be delayed by the individual’s attempt to obtain
an additional test.

(i) Request by individual—An individual involved in an accident or
placed under arrest for a violation of section 6502 may request a chemical
test of the individual’s breath, blood or urine. A request under this subsection
shall be honored when it is reasonably practicable to do so.

(i) Immunity from civil liability and reports.—No physician, nurse or
technician or hospital employing the physician, nurse or technician, and no
other employer of the physician, nurse or technician, shall be civilly liable for
withdrawing blood or obtaining a urine sample and reporting test results at
the request of a law enforcement officer pursuant to this section. No
physician, nurse or technician or hospital employing the physician, nurse or
technician may administratively refuse to perform a test and provide the
results except for good cause.

§ 6505. Reporting.
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A law enforcement officer shall report to the Federal Aviation
Administration:
(1) the name of the individual and the results of the individual’s
chemical test administered under section 6504(b) (relating to testing); and
(2) the name of an individual that refused to submit to a chemical test
under this chapter.
Section 2. This act shall take effect in 90 days.

APPROVED—The 5th day of July, A.D. 2005.
EDWARD G. RENDELL



