No. 2012-114

AN ACT

HB 2199

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for schedule of convictions and points; and providing for obedience to traffic-control devices warning of hazardous conditions.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 1535(a) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 1535. Schedule of convictions and points.

(a) General rule.—A point system for driver education and control is hereby established which is related to other provisions for use, suspension and revocation of the operating privilege as specified under this title. Every driver licensed in this Commonwealth who is convicted of any of the following offenses shall be assessed points as of the date of violation in accordance with the following schedule:

Section Number	Offense	Points
1512	Violation of restriction on	
	driver's license.	2
1571	Violation concerning license.	3
3102	Failure to obey policeman or	
	authorized person.	2
<i>3111.1</i>	Obedience to traffic-control	
	devices warning of hazardous	
	conditions.	2 3
3112(a)(3)(i)	Failure to stop for a red light.	3
or (ii)		
3114(a)(1)	Failure to stop for a flashing	
	red light.	3
3302	Failure to yield half of road-	
	way to oncoming vehicle.	3
3303	Improper passing.	3 3 3
3304	Other improper passing.	3
3305	Other improper passing.	
3306(a)(1)	Other improper passing.	4
3306(a)(2)	Other improper passing.	. 3
3306(a)(3)	Other improper passing.	-3 3 3
3307	Other improper passing.	3
3310	Following too closely.	3
3321	Failure to yield to driver on the	
	right at intersection.	3
3322	Failure to yield to oncoming	
	driver when making left turn.	3
3323(b)	Failure to stop for stop sign.	3

3323(c)	Failure to yield at yield sign.	3
3324	Failure to yield when entering	
	or crossing roadway between	
	intersections.	3
3332	Improper turning around.	3
3341(a)	Failure to obey signal indi-	_
20.1(4)	cating approach of train.	2
3341(b)	Failure to comply with cross-	_
33 (1(0)	ing gate or barrier.	4
	(and 30 days' suspension)	7
3342(b) or (e)	Failure to stop at railroad	
3342(0) OI (C)	crossings.	4
3344		4
3344	Failure to stop when entering	
	from alley, driveway or build-	2
2245(-)	ing.	3
3345(a)	Failure to stop for school bus	_
	with flashing red lights.	5
2261	(and 60 days' suspension)	•
3361	Driving too fast for conditions.	2
3362	Exceeding maximum speed.—	
	Over Limit:	
	6-10 2	
	11-15 3	
	16-25 4	
	26-30 5	
	31-over 5	
	(and departmental hearing	
	and sanctions provided	
	under section 1538(d))	
3365(b)	Exceeding special speed limit	
	in school zone.	3
	(and 60 days' suspension	
	for a second or subsequent	
	offense)	
3365(c)	Exceeding special speed limit	
()	for trucks on downgrades.	3
3542(a)	Failure to yield to pedestrian	
()	in crosswalk.	2
3547	Failure to yield to pedestrian	_
3317	on sidewalk.	3
3549(a)	Failure to yield to blind	3
5547(a)	pedestrian.	3
3702	Improper backing.	3 3 3
3714(a)	Careless driving.	3
3714(a) 3745	Leaving scene of accident in-	3
J/4J		4
* *	volving property damage only.	4

Section 2. Title 75 is amended by adding a section to read:

SESSION OF 2012 Act 2012-114 1005

§ 3111.1. Obedience to traffic-control devices warning of hazardous conditions.

- (a) General Rule.—The driver of any vehicle, unless otherwise directed by an emergency service responder, shall not drive past, around or through a sign or traffic-control device closing a road or highway due to an existing or potentially hazardous condition.
- (b) Penalty.—Any person violating this section commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, pay a fine of not more than \$250 unless the violation results in the utilization of the services of a first responder or emergency medical or rescue personnel, including towing services, in which case the fine shall be increased to not less than \$250 nor more than \$500.
- (c) Emergency response costs.—A person convicted of violating this section shall, in addition to any other sentence imposed or restitution ordered under 42 Pa.C.S. § 9721(c) (relating to sentencing generally), be sentenced to pay restitution in an amount equal to the cost of fire and police response and emergency medical service or emergency preparedness response resulting from the offense.

Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED-The 5th day of July, A.D. 2012

TOM CORBETT