## No. 2014-80

## AN ACT

SB 1090

Amending Title 34 (Game) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for resident license and fee exemptions.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 2706(b) of Title 34 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 2706. Resident license and fee exemptions.

\* \* \*

(b) Disabled veterans.—

(1) Any resident disabled veteran [of] who has a disability incurred in any war or armed conflict [whose physical disability] which consists of the loss of one or more limbs, or the loss of the use of one or more limbs, or [whose physical disability is considered total] who is 100% disabled as certified by the United States Department<sup>4</sup> of Veterans Affairs, and who meets all other qualifications of this title and is otherwise mentally and physically fit, shall be issued a free regular hunting or furtaking license upon application to [any] the commission or a county treasurer[, without the payment of the license cost, if that person is domiciled in this Commonwealth].

(1.1) Any disabled veteran who has a disability incurred in any war or armed conflict and possesses a disability rating between 60% and 99% as certified by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs and who meets all other qualifications of this act and is otherwise mentally and physically fit shall be issued a resident hunting or furtaking license at the cost of \$1 upon application to the commission or a county treasurer.

(2) The application for the issuance of [this] a license under paragraph (1) or (1.1) shall, in addition to the other information required by the [director] commission, contain a statement that the applicant is a war or armed conflict veteran and that [his physical] the qualifying disability was service incurred.

(3) The [applicant shall produce the applicant's discharge papers and a Department of Veterans Affairs disability certification to the effect that the applicant suffers total physical disability] *issuing agent* or the commission may require the production of the discharge papers of the applicant.

(4) If a disabled veteran who qualifies for issuance of a license under [this subsection] *paragraph (1)* presents documentation to show that the qualifying disability is permanent, the county treasurer shall issue the disabled veteran a lifetime hunting or furtaking license.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>"by the Department" in enrolled bill.

(5) In a county where there is no county treasurer by virtue of a home rule charter or optional plan of government, the county official who performs the functions of a county treasurer and who has been designated an issuing agent by the commission shall issue licenses under this subsection.

\* \* \*

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED-The 26th day of June, A.D. 2014

TOM CORBETT

-