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No. 2014-192 

AN ACT 
HB 80 

Amending Title 18 (Criines and Offenses) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, 
in burglary and other crimi.nal intrusion, further providing for the offense of 
criminal trespass; defining the offense of theft of secondary metal; prescribing 
penalties; and, in firearms and other dangerous articles, further providing for 
Pennsylvania State Police and for limitation on the regulation of firearms and 
ammunition. 

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby 
enacts as follows: 

Section 1. Section 3503(b.l) and ( d) of Title 18 of the Pennsylvania 
Consolidated Statutes are amended to read: 
§ 3503. Criminal trespass. 

* * * 
(b.1) Simple trespasser.-

(1) A person commits an offense if, knowing that he is not licensed 
or privileged to do so, he enters or remains in any place for the puri>ose 
of: 

(i) threatening or terrorizing the owner or occupant of the 
premises; 

(ii) starting or causing to be started any fire upon the premises; 
[or] 

(iii) defacing or damaging the premises[.); or 
(iv) unlawfully taking secondary meta/from the premises. 

(2) An offense under [this subsection] paragraph (l)(iv) constitutes 
a first degree misdemeanor. An offense under paragraph (l)(i), (ii) or 
(iii) constitutes a summary offense. 

* * * 
(d) [Definition.-As used in this section, the term "school grounds" 

means any] Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and . 
phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: · 

"School grounds." Any building of or grounds of any elementary or· 
secondary publicly funded educational institution, any elementary or 
secondary private school licensed by the Department of Education, any 
elementary or secondary parochial school, any certified day-care center or 
any licensed preschool program. 

"Secondary metal." As defined in section 3935 (relating to theft of 
secondary metal). 

Section 2. Title 18 is amended by adding a section to read: 
§ 3935. Theft of secondary metal. 

(a) Offense defined.-A person commits the offense of theft of 
secondary metal if the person unlawfully takes or attempts to take 
possession of, carries away or exercises uniawf ul control over any 
secondary metal with intent to deprive the rightful owner thereof. 
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(b) Grading.-Except as set forth in subsection (c): 
(1) An offense under this section constitutes a misdemeanor of the 

third degree when the value of the secondary metal unlawfully obtained 
is less than $50. 

(2) When the value of the secondary metal unlawfully obtained is 
$50 or more but less than $200 the offense constitutes a misdemeanor 
of the second degree. 

(3) When the value of the secondary metal unlawfully obtained is 
$200 or more but less than $1,000 the offense constitutes a 
misdemeanor of the first degree. 

(4) When the value of the secondary metal unlawfully obtained is 
$1,000 or more, the offense constitutes a felony of the third degree. 
(c) Third or subsequent offenses.-An offense under this section 

constitutes a felony of the third degree when the offense is a third or 
subsequent offense, regardless of the value of the secondary metal. For 
purposes of this subsection, a first and second offense includes a 
conviction, acceptance of Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition or other 
form of preliminary disposition before the sentencing on the present 
violation for an offense under this section or an offense under section 
3921 (relating to theft by unlawful taking or disposition). 

(d) Definition.-As used in this section, the term "secondary metal" 
means wire, pipe or cable commonly used by communications, gas and 
electrical utilities and railroads and mass transit or commuter rail 
agencies, copper, aluminum or other metal, or a combination of metals, 
that is valuable for recycling or reuse as raw material 

Section 3. Section 6111.1(±)(3) and (g)(l) and (3) of Title 18 are 
amended to read: 
§ 6111.1. Pennsylvania State Police. 

* * * 
(t) Notification of mental health adjudication, treatment, commitment, 

drug use or addiction.-

*** 
(3) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the Pennsylvania State 

Police [may] shall, within 72 hours of receipt, disclose, electronically or 
otherwise, to the United States Attorney General or a designee, any record 
relevant to a determination of whether a person is disqualified from 
possessing or receiving a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922 (g)(3) or (4) or 
an applicable state statute[.], and any record relevant to a determination 
of whether a person is not disqualified or is no longer disqualified from 
possessing or receiving a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3) or (4) or 
an applicable state statute. 
(g) Review by court.-

(1) Upon receipt of a copy of the order of a court of competent 
jurisdiction which vacates a final order or an involuntary certification 
issued by a mental health review officer, the Pennsylvania State Police 
shall, after disclosing relevant records under subsection (j)(3), expunge 
all records of the involuntary treatment received under subsection (t). 

* * * 
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(3) The Pennsylvania State Police, after disclosing relevant records 
under subsection (j)(3), shall expunge all records of an involuntary 
commitment of an individual who is discharged from a mental health 
facility based upon the initial review by the physician occurring within 
two hours of arrival under section 302(b) of the Mental Health Procedures 
Act and the physician's determination that no severe mental disability 
existed pursuant to section 302(b) of the Mental Health Procedures Act. 
The physician shall provide signed confirmation of the determination of 
the lack of severe mental disability following the initial examination 
under section 302(b) of the Mental Health Procedures Act to the 
Pennsylvania State Police. 

* * * 
Section 4. Section 6120(b) of Title 18 is amended and the section is 

amended by adding subsections to read: 
§ 6120. Limitation on the regulation of firearms and ammunition. 

* * * 
(a.2) Relief.-A person adversely affected by an ordinance, a 

resolution, regulation, rule, practice or any other action promulgated or 
enforced by a county, municipality or township prohibited under 
subsection (a) or 53 Pa.C.S. § 2962(g) (relating to limitation on municipal 
powers).may seek declaratory or injunctive relief and actual damages in an 
appropriate court. 

(a.3) Reasonable expenses.-A court shall award reasonable expenses 
to a person adversely affected in an action under subsection (a.2) for any 
of the following: 

(1) A final determination by the court is granted in favor of the 
person adversely affected. 

(2) The regulation in question is rescinded, repealed or otherwise 
abrogated after suit has been filed under subsection (a.2) but before the 
final determination by the court. 
(b) Definitions.-As used in this section, the following words and 

phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection: 
"Dealer." The term shall include any person engaged in the business of 

selling at wholesale or retail a firearm or ammunition. 
"Firearms." This term shall have the meaning given to it in section 5515 

(relating to prohibiting of paramilitary training) but shall not include air 
rifles as that term is defined in section 6304 (relating to sale and use of air 
rifles). 

"Person adversely affected." Any of the following: 
(1) A resident of this Commonwealth who may legally possess a 

firearm under Federal and State law. 
(2) A person who otherwise has standing under the laws of this 

Commonwealth to bring an action under subsection (a.2). 
(3) A membership organization, in which a member is a person 

described under paragraph (1) or (2). 
"Political subdivision." The term shall include any home rule charter 

municipality, county, city, borough, incorporated town, township or school 
district. 
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"Reasonable expenses." The term includes, but is not limited to, 
attorney fees, expert witness fees, court costs and compensation for loss of 
income. 

Section 5. This act shall take effect in 60 days. 

APPROVED-The 6th day ofNovember, A.D. 2014 

TOM CORBETT 


