of land, situated in Union town, in trust, and for the use of the 1783. inhabitants of the said county, and thereon to erect and build a court-house and prison, sufficient to accommodate the public service of the said county.

Passed 26th September, 1783.—Recorded in Law Book No. II. page 194. (r)

(r) The sections omitted in this act have become obsolete-as, sect. 5. To be represented by one member in the Assembly. 6. Taxes already assessed to be paid to Westmoreland. 8. Justices of the peace to be elected by the people. 11. How money was to be raised for purchasing public ground. 12. Not to exceed a certain sum. Process in Westmoreland not to be discontinued. 14. Collector of excise to be appointed. 15. Who was to collect arrearages. 16. And to give security. 17. Sheriff of Westmoreland to officiate until the election in Fayette. 18. Trustees to run the boundary lines within a limited time. 19. Sheriff and Treasurer to give security, both of which are supplied.

By an act passed Feb'y 17th, 1784, (chap. 1057,) an additional part of Westmoreland county is added to Fayette, beginning at the mouth of Jacob's creek, thence up the main branch of said creek to Cherry's mill, thence along the road leading to Jones' mill, until the same shall intersect the line of Bedford county, (now Somerset,) thence southwesterly by the line of Bedford county aforesaid, until the same intersects the Youghiogeny river, thence down the said river to the place of beginning.

The commissioners of Fayette county were authorized to raise a further sum of money for the purpose of erecting public buildings for the use of said county, by act of Jan'y 19th, 1793, (chap. 1638.)

Union Town was incorporated by act

of April 4th, 1796, (chap. 1899.)
Fayette county divided into four election districts by act of March 3d, 1790, (chap. 1473.)

Salt Lick township erected into a district, April 8th, 1799, (chap. 2049, sect. 2.)

Wharton township erected into a district, April 8th, 1799, (chap. 2050, sect. 7.)

Place of holding elections in the fourth district changed Dec'r 1st, 1800, (chap. 2142.)

Dunbar township annexed to the fourth district, April 5th, 1802, (chap. 2279.)

Franklin township erected into a district, and called the 7th district, Feb'y 1st, 1805, (chap, 2521.)

Place of holding elections in the sixth district changed April 11th, 1807, (chap. 2856, sect. 16.)

Washington township erected into a district March 28th, 1808, chap. 2972, sect. 19.)

By the last enumeration, the county of Favette contained four thousand four hundred and fifty-four taxables; and, by act of March 21st, 1808, (chap. 2931,) apportioning the representation in pursuance thereof, sends three members to the House of Representatives, and one member to the Senate.

By the judiciary act of Feb'y 24th, 1806, (chap, 2634,) the counties of Beaver, Allegheny, Washington, Fayette and Greene form the fifth district. The term continues one week. The courts in Beaver commence on the first Mondays in January, August and November, and last Monday in March, and in the other counties in succession, as above named.

Fayette county composes part of the western district of the Supreme Court.

CHAPTER MXLVI.

An ACT for incorporating the Baptist church in the township of Montgomery, and county of Philadelphia.

Passed 26th September, 1783.—Private Act.—Recorded in Law Book No. II. page 200.